We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Yackandandah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best place to stay!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights.Rooms are well fitted out but balcony was awful! Our view was of a wall and roof tops at the back of the building. The noise on the roof by the maintenance man at 6am was not appreciated! There are stones around the outside of the pool and he was walking over these, hosing or whatever! He then proceeded to wash the sail above our balcony drenching our outside furniture and was then washing bird poo off the walls which washed onto the floor of our balcony! Luckily we were a few minutes from sitting out there to have our breakfast! When we contacted reception the lady apologised and suggested we went on the roof top to eat our breakfast! We were in our pjs so didn't want to and certainly should have been able to sit on our own balcony! We went to her later and mentioned about the bird poo and she said she'd send one of the housekeepers in to clean it up ! This she did but after returning four hours later we still couldn't use it because the furniture was still wet! We have stayed in better places with a beautiful view on the Sunshine Coast for less money! Despite getting the room off wotif for a lesser price I dont think we got what we paid for! This was our last stop on our way home after a three week holiday to Queensland and it was very disappointing!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayGeeCee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, General Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are very sorry about the interruption to your stay with us; we have been dealing with a pigeon problem on the rooftop above your unit and work was not meant to start until 9am. Before that the contractor should have checked with reception that the rooms below were vacant; this was not done and the contractor has been reprimanded.
Once again we sincerely apologise for this oversight which spoiled your stay; I would like to explain that we also have river view rooms available at certain times and will try our best to allocate these rooms upon request if available.
If you would like to contact me directly we can discuss this resolution further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    187
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
83
245
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am giving these apartments a higher rating than I might have otherwise done because of Jodie at reception. She was very attentive and helpful when I requested a room change. We stayed 4 nights in a studio apartment on the second floor. Our room was a good size for 2 people. The bathroom was clean with great warm water pressure in the shower. The small kitchen had a sink, dishwasher and convection oven. We had a small balcony overlooking the street, a building and had a glimpse of the river. We enjoyed using the roof top heated swimming pool. Mantra Quayside is conveniently located in town, walking distance to the river, shops, cafes and restaurants. There are other apartments with better views, but at higher rates so it depends a on what you are after. However, the Mantra Quayside is very comfortable and has much to offer.

Room Tip: One side of the apartment block overlooks a car park and the other side overlooks the street and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of our apartments and your stay with us. We are so happy that Jodie was able to assist in making your stay more comfortable. We do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Quayside in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I spent 2 nights here with my wife, we had a room with a spa on the balcony, it was just brilliant. The room was lovely, very spacious and had Fox in the room, which was great for watching Premier League when my wife fell asleep. The Hotel is very close to the main streets of Port and about a 15 minute walk to the beach. There is a pool on the roof which is heated to 29 degrees C and was a great place to read in the sun. The only downside is a fair bit of noise from traffic comes in through the balcony (we were on the first floor) and the view is not much to look at as it's a few blocks back from the river.
Great stay though, would definitely go back next time in port, if for no other reason than to have 3 or 4 spas a day.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luked_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a detailed review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our spa and pool facilities, we often get comments on how relaxing this is. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lambton
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was blown away when I got to my room due to the little gift that was waiting for me. They remembered I had stayed with them in the past and had a gift pack full of treats. Also their rooms are great and very spacious, I always stay in a 1 bedroom apartment due to all the comforts. This hotel is in the heart of Port and you can virtually walk everywhere. I will definitely use the Mantra again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Conor7Lily13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, General Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments, we are delighted to hear you were happy with your welcome gift. We look forward to welcoming back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a lovely studio apartment with balcony for such a reasonable price, only downside was the bed was quiet hard. Everything else was 10/10. Close to plenty of shops and only a couple of blocks to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniemarree92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location and facilities, and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had specific things in mind and we felt that all was covered by the accommodation and the location. Plenty to do at Port Macquarie which means we will return and central location to explore the restaurants and shops.
It was so easy to book and the service was very friendly.
Thanks you so much.

Room Tip: We love a balcony to enjoy afternoon drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, General Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay in Port Macquarie and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here to break up our trip to Southport we could have stayed here all week. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The kids loved the heated pool on the rooftop which had lovely views of Port. The BBQ area and outdoor tables on the rooftop very clean and very well maintained. Good location close to shops and cafés.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mjakj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to enjoy our rooftop and pool facilities. We do hope to welcome your back should you return to Port Macquarie in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie

Property: Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Address: | Cnr William & Short Streets, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#13 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Quayside, Port Macquarie is situated in the beautiful coastal town of Port Macquarie, offering quality accommodation just minutes walk from the shopping and dining hub of Horton Street. Featuring self-contained Studios and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, Mantra Quayside provides everything you need for a relaxed and stress-free North Coast holiday. Perfect for business people, a couples getaway or family holiday, Mantra Quayside Port Macquarie offers spacious, self-contained apartments all featuring a kitchenette or full kitchen facilities, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art home theatre system and balcony or patio, with some offering views over the Back Channel anchorage on Hastings River. Our relaxed and comfortable Port Macquarie resort features a rooftop pool and entertaining area with views over the waterfront, a fully equipped gym, sauna, sauna and direct access to shopping. Only a short stroll from Mantra Quayside Apartments you will find dynamic Horton Street which offers an abundance of cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, cinemas and the brand new Glasshouse theatre or take a scenic drive to the many wineries in the Greater Port Macquarie region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing