We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay anywhere else in Port Macquarie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else in Port Macquarie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our third stay and yet again although a different room from previous visits the room was spacious, clean with great facilities especially cooking utensils of which there was a fantastic variety.
We had a problem with the dishwasher on the second day and after a quick phone call the staff were great and really helpful. An electrician arrived later in the day but found he needed to order a part which unfortunately did not arrive during our stay (we were only there for one more day). The staff on reception did offer to get the cleaners to wash our used pots but we declined the offer - its simple enough to wash manually.
The mantra is also close to everything you need- shops, restaurants, pubs and with a supermarket and liquor store on the doorstep.
Finally the rooftop pool - now without the sail was even better along with the gym and BBQ factors. We'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxim3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for detailed review, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed yet another stay with us. It is great to receive feedback on all the "little things" that we are constantly aiming to provide to make our guests stay more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    185
    36
    5
    7
See reviews for
81
238
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra during a recent weekend sporting event that was held in Port Macqaurie.We found the reception staff extremely friendly and helpful.Our studio apartments were clean and well appointed with all appliances in excellent order. The spa on the verandah was already warm when we arrived and filled with clean and clear water.Due to poor weather we requested a late checkout which we were kindly given. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved our studio apartment with the spa on the verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodtotravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and do hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a one bedroom room - and had an absolutely amazing stay.

We were on three weeks holiday traveling south from Brisbane to wherever we felt, stopping over at different towns for several days at a time. Our stay at Port Macquarie was on the return during the last week and was a second trip to the delightful town.

Although we had some issues with the swipe entry to the carpark, the service, cleanliness and presentation of the whole hotel made up for it. The whole experience far outdid our expectations - beautiful polished stainless, spotless glass, perfect pool and gym - it was easy to lose track of time and hard to find reasons to leave.

The one bedroom included a full kitchen (including large bar fridge and an oven), lounge room and large balcony. Condiments included plunger coffee and great tea. With Coles less then five minutes walk away, we prepared all of our meals at the room.

I very much recommend spending time in the heated lap pool - maintained beautifully, with glass fencing which overlooks the Hastings River towards Settlement Point. There are also deck lounge chairs so you can dry off and get some sun. The gym was equally perfect, fully equipped including sauna, shower, treadmill, cross-trainer, cycle and weights machines, looking out towards one of the oldest churches in NSW. On this same roof there is also a very well maintained guest barbecue area with several tables and chairs - beautiful for an evening meal with a great view.

Free wireless broadband internet (unlimited) was also great - the first time we could hop onto Youtube or use Skype to call our friends/family in a while. TVs in both the lounge room and bedroom were very small for the size / position in the room - but why would you go on holiday to watch TV, right? Ducted air con was silent and quickly chilled the large rooms. All of the facilities / rooms smelt fresh - no smell of cleaner/chemicals in the air - which was a nice change.

Location was also fantastic - only a few minutes walk to the RSL and Marina. River cruises and boat/kayak hires are the cheapest rates on the east coast - great fun for all.

All the staff were very friendly - and had exceptional customer focus, constantly looking for feedback and ways to make this a better stay. The mini room service was great - replacing all of the condiments / clean towels / etc. without any charge.

We have had a number of stays in Mantra hotels throughout the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast, and Mantra Quayside was by far the best of the chain. We thoroughly recommend them - if we get an opportunity to return to Port Macquarie, we'll definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: The views from all rooms aren't exceptional - it's the roof top with the swimming pool / BBQ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabengregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Owner at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for detailed review. It is so great to see that you have taken the time to point out the positive aspects of your stay with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and convenient location and Thank you again for pointing out the "little things", as we strive to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable here. With regards to the swipe keys, we do have issues with them, but we do also clean and maintain them regularly, they are very sensitive. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice enough place but our room initially stared at the rear of the neighbouring squash courts. After a change we were much happier but a place suited to a family and not a younger couple with a small baby.

Be aware there is no reception after 5 so if there are any problems with your reservations corrections become problematic. We also had a cleaner walk into our room at a few minutes prior to checkout while my wife was topless - not the best. I've never had staff waiting at my door on the minute. Ordinary.

The water view from the website is a tad cheated in angle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottdamion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is important to us.
During the booking process it was explained that there were no water view apartments available for both nights so we moved you after the first night when a water view became available at no extra charge & we are pleased you were happier as a result; also our hotel is well suited to all travel requirements including young families.
As far as after hours are concerned there are night managers on site accessible from the in room phone & they are always keen to assist.
Our housekeepers always knock first & announce themselves & it is unfortunate when guests do not hear the knock for whatever reason; checkout time is 10am & should guests require a later checkout it is advisable of course to ask reception first ( & it will be granted subject to occupancy) so it can be arranged instead of assumed, which may lead to an unfortunate situation as you described with your wife.
All website photography of Mantra Quayside is undertaken by professional photographers to maximize the best aspects of the hotels location without embellishment or "photo shopping".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I know that some of my comments will not be agreeable to some, but they are based on my personal wants in a hotel. The reception was closed when we got there but they were kind enough to send us an SMS to warn us this would be the case. I think this is great customer service. We got our deal from wotif and we were warned about the room facing the road so we knew before we went, so that was fine. We came for a two night stay and planned on having a nice couple of nights lazing in the spa. We got there, our card didn't work properly to gain access to the car park. We spent 15 minutes driving from one carpark access point to another trying to get the carpark door to open. Finally got it, thank goodness because there was no reception and we didn't know who we would call if we couldn't. There was probably a bell we could have used. We got up to our room. We had bought some beer and needed a bottle opener. It was a studio apartment so we saw some wine glasses and thought there must be an opener. All we found was a can opener with a tiny bottle opener on the end. My husband used it and cut his finger on the sharp edge, can openers are not bottle openers. It wasn't a great start. We went out onto the balcony, it was open to the entire street but we knew this would be the case. There are no smoking signs on the balcony. No glass in or near the spa bath signs. There goes our relaxing soak in the spa with a glass of wine. I figured if they were going to make these rules they could at least offer plastic wine glasses. We had to buy some. As for the smoking, I am a smoker and I checked the website before we booked to try and make sure they didn't ban smoking on the balcony, I should have rang first. I can understand in public places and inside the room but not on the balcony. There was no mention of it on the website so I assumed it would be ok. We had to get dressed, go downstairs and stand in the carpark next to the building if you wanted a cigarette. It's just a suggestion but I think you should advertise the fact you are a non smoking hotel. You have to be pretty wealthy to smoke now so I think you'll find that your richer clientele would appreciate that info before they book. The rooms were nice, clean and beautifully presented. The bathroom was nice too but there was yet another sign telling us if we ran out of complimentary toilet paper we had to buy our own. There are white roller blinds on the windows and doors so the lights from the city and the morning sun stream in. I found it hard to sleep and I was up earlier than I wanted to be because of this. The bed was uncomfortable also. The spa was nice but there were only bubbles on one chair so once someone sat on the chair it turned into more of a bath tub than a spa. I didn't find it very relaxing. By the end of my stay I was tired an cranky. I wouldn't stay again and I am happy we didn't pay full price. As another person said about this hotel on this site, you wouldn't pay that much for what they were offering in a hotel in Sydney. If your going to stay here just be aware of the many rules, they should probably give you a sheet of them before you come, maybe ring ahead and ask before booking and don't forget your plastic cups and plastic wine glasses if you want to go in the spa or a bottle opener if your require one. Spare toilet paper wouldn't go astray either.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32foreva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review, your feedback is important to us. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with certain aspects of your stay with us. We love the suggestions of the plastic glasses in the spa rooms and have put this in place already. With regards to the No Smoking policy, this is in place in accordance with the regulations placed in all hotels in NSW, and we do advertise this on all websites. We also aim to inform all guests if requests cannot be met.
With regards to the difficulties in entering the car park, the details are highlighted on the welcome letter, along with the after hours number and the instructions for pressing the call button (which you must have accessed in order to receive your keys after hours). This after hours service is provided at all times when reception is closed.
Our signs and any information given in any form is for the safety and consideration of all guests, to ensure their stay is enjoyable., and we apologise for any inconvenience caused to you by this. Our replacement supplies are available at anytime upon request at NO CHARGE. We will be following up with maintenance about the spa jet not working, if reception was informed during the time of your stay, we would have had this rectified immediately. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the Mantra Quayside and had a great experience; Everything was as expected or better, especially the service.
We'd not been to Port Macquarie before, so we weren't really sure where all the good places were to eat, or get a good coffee or even what were some of the "must do's" during our stay, but the staff were very helpful and the information was spot on (not one bad cup of coffee was had!).
The room was lovely and had all the features you'd expect. The housekeeping staff were fabulous and did a great job servicing the whole complex... Trust me its a full time job with all the sandy feet coming back from the beach (which is an easy walk or a quick drive away, depending on the beach you want to visit).
The location was perfect; right in the heart of the holiday town and close to all the restaurants, cafes, shops and the waterfront.
My tip for visiting Port Macquarie is most restaurants, generally, won't take a dinner booking after 8pm, so make sure you get in early so you're not disappointed.
To sum it up, we had a great time and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Owner at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Your feedback is the one true benchmark by which we can measure our facilities and services, and we are so happy we achieved this in all areas. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and our facilities, we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Quayside in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for a night as a stopover.
Loved the small kitchenette, and Coles was only 3 min walk so we could cook our own brecky.
Bed was super comfy.
Great info in visitors folder in room.
Nice Thai restaurant downstairs.
Didn't really love that our rooms balcony was connected to other rooms balcony, felt like it needed a little more privacy.
Loved the free washer/dryer on our level.
Bathroom 6/10 for cleanliness, grout was brown and cleaners marks on floor.
Overall happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to have played a part in making your travels enjoyable. Thank you for pointing out the housekeeping issues, which I can assure you will be dealt with, we are constantly looking for ways to meet and exceed our guests expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Mantra Quayside again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie

Property: Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Address: | Cnr William & Short Streets, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#13 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Quayside, Port Macquarie is situated in the beautiful coastal town of Port Macquarie, offering quality accommodation just minutes walk from the shopping and dining hub of Horton Street. Featuring self-contained Studios and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, Mantra Quayside provides everything you need for a relaxed and stress-free North Coast holiday. Perfect for business people, a couples getaway or family holiday, Mantra Quayside Port Macquarie offers spacious, self-contained apartments all featuring a kitchenette or full kitchen facilities, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art home theatre system and balcony or patio, with some offering views over the Back Channel anchorage on Hastings River. Our relaxed and comfortable Port Macquarie resort features a rooftop pool and entertaining area with views over the waterfront, a fully equipped gym, sauna, sauna and direct access to shopping. Only a short stroll from Mantra Quayside Apartments you will find dynamic Horton Street which offers an abundance of cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, cinemas and the brand new Glasshouse theatre or take a scenic drive to the many wineries in the Greater Port Macquarie region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing