We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover”

Excelsior Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Motor Inn
Ranked #35 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stopover”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Im only reading the reviews now that were posted previously but i have to say that the man who served me at the front desk was very helpful and friendly to both myself and my family.
We stayed here for two nights in the family room and we had a pleasant stay. Great great value for money and in a great location between town and beach.
We will return for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbieowensrusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    16
    3
    10
See reviews for
8
21
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at about 5.30 pm. I have never had such a non-welcome at a motel or hotel in my life! We only got sighs and grunts! This guy obviously doesn't like people.....so why go into the hospitality business! On the other hand the room was basic, but clean and tidy.........no sign of the bugs and cockroaches reported by other guests.

We walked down to the waterfront square, about 15 mins walk, and ate at a fabulous Spanish restaurant...best food we've had in Australia. At dusk thousands of parrots and then fruit bats came overhead....quite a sight!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overthere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am really sorry to have to give a totally negative review to the Excelsior however the insect (read cockroach) issues and disinterested customer service remain.

Cockroaches are a fact of life around the world and the big ones that fly and crawl in to every hotel and motel are almost impossible to stop. There is however absolutely no excuse for having a room overrun by the small black cockroach - these little insects are resident and an infestation takes time to develop. With proper pest control and careful cleaning they can be eradicated.
The infestation around the fridge and kitchenette area of my room was so bad that it sparked persistent hayfever - not to mention the need to move my bags and belongings onto the top of chairs at night. Cockroaches in the fridge and on bedside tables at night is the limit!

Unfortunately I was in town for work and moving motels was not a viable option for me so I stayed on for longer than I should have. Sure I was provided with a can of flying insect spray by Noel but I am afraid the resident cockroaches regard a shot of spray as great fun.

As far a customer service goes - if you try really hard you can probably get a smile out of Noel. Stay at the Excelsior and that can be your challenge. Otherwise stay elsewhere - sorry Noel!

Room Tip: Don't - choose to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hornetstings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Macquarie hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel itself was quite clean with the exception of cockroaches and ants running around in the bathroom and bedroom. We didnt know how to turn on the tv, gas heater or telephone and proceeded to try and call the reception with a telephone that has no dial tone. So we rang the motels telephone number requesting someone to come up. After he showed up with a sour face fixing our problems, i proceeded to ask about the telephone. He said it was only for room to room and reception. Then i asked "okay, so what number can i dial if i need to reach reception?" in which he abruptly answered " well you dont. Cos im going to sleep".

Yep, hands down, worst customer service in a motel ever

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quincygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived in Port Macquarie during the monsoon rains and floods at the beginning of March and were evacuated from our resort because of the floods from the River Hastings. The Red Cross found us this motel, very central and away from any flood danger, where we stayed for 2 nights until our booked resort became available again. I have to say we were extremely happy with our twin room, the amenities, the daily servicing and the friendly helpful owners Noel and Perla. The motel is very central, walking distance to town and shops, is comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed our stay here and would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinkydi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We picked this motel as it was central and available for one night – not easy in a holiday town in peak season. It was very handy to town and within walking distance of Town Beach so we didn’t need to use the car once there. The room was a basic motel room, very clean and everything we required was there and working. The location was quiet and we were able to leave our window open overnight. The downside was that we had an upper level room so had to carry everything up and down the stairs. There are some under cover car parks.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were very happy with the motel room. It was clean and also had daily maid services. The amenities were great, including an iron and board.

We noticed some small bugs on the surface of the kitchen area and assumed it was because we'd left breadcrumbs there. However, later on when it became dark we had the bathroom light off and when we switched it on again at least ten of the little buggers were scrambling to get into a dark spot. We covered the drain on the floor in the hope it'd stop them appearing, but unfortunately every time the light went off they reappeared in droves, venturing into the bedroom and under the bed too! Hence, the light in the bathroom remained on from then on, which seemed to lessen their numbers substantially.

The bugs looked like very small cockroaches. It may just be the particular room we were in but the infestation does need dealing with! Aside from this one thing, everything else was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.6 mi away
Ocean Breeze Motel
Ocean Breeze Motel
#34 of 42 in Port Macquarie
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Aloha Motel
Port Aloha Motel
#20 of 42 in Port Macquarie
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hastings Valley Motel
Hastings Valley Motel
#19 of 42 in Port Macquarie
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
John Oxley Motel
John Oxley Motel
#33 of 42 in Port Macquarie
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
462 reviews
3.8 mi away
Major Innes Motel
Major Innes Motel
#29 of 42 in Port Macquarie
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Motor Inn

Property: Excelsior Motor Inn
Address: 92 William Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing