We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nasty”

Excelsior Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Motor Inn
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I had chosen this motel based on great reviews on trip advisor and it was a convenient stop off during our trip from Brisbane to Sydney. On arrival, we did ask to see the room and this request was met with a very disgruntled attitude from the old guy behind reception. Not the friendly Aussie welcome we were used to. Room was very tired, wardrobe unable to open, bathroom musty and not been refreshed for a very long time.
In all, not a very nice place to be in. Apologies to other reviewers who do not have the same opinion but I would certainly steer clear as they are equally affordable and better quality motels and hotels in port Macquarie.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank EllisGl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 25, 2012

I has taken us some time to identify this guest given that his review ID is not that which he registered under.However now that we have let us address his comments.
Reservation was made for the night of 27 Dec 2011 which fell within our peak period. We normally close our reception at 9pm at which time he had not arrived or contacted us. What to do?. We are turning away requests for a room(full).Is he coming or not?. Do we sell the room or not?.
OK we give him the benefit of the doubt that he may not be aware of our closing time given that he is from overseas and keep the room for him.
He arrived at 10.30pm , no explanation and announces that before he will check in he wants to inspect the room to see if it is suitable. To which he was informed that by all means he can inspect the room however whether or not he took the room he would have to pay for it and the reasons why to which he took umbrage.
His comments therefor need to be read in conjunction with the above and in our opinion are quite unjustified and unreasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2009

Stayed here one night on trip between the Gold Coast and Sydney. It was easy to find and in a good location, only 5 mins walk from the main set of restaurants and the beach. The reception on arrival was friendly and without fuss, the room was a decent size and comfortable - everything we wanted for a stopover.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

We travel to Port Macquarie often and find the Excelsior Motel the best value for money in town.
The rooms are clean, it is well run and is in a very convenient location, a short stroll to shops, beaches and waterfront.
The Excelsior is very well maintained and has everything for a comfortable stay. Room quality is very good.
There are of course, 5 star hotels at a five star price, but this one is the best value by far.
We always stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mudge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.8 mi away
John Oxley Motel
John Oxley Motel
#32 of 42 in Port Macquarie
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le George Motel
Le George Motel
#27 of 42 in Port Macquarie
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Breeze Motel
Ocean Breeze Motel
#34 of 42 in Port Macquarie
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hastings Valley Motel
Hastings Valley Motel
#15 of 42 in Port Macquarie
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Aloha Motel
Port Aloha Motel
#25 of 42 in Port Macquarie
135 reviews
3.8 mi away
Major Innes Motel
Major Innes Motel
#28 of 42 in Port Macquarie
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Motor Inn

Address: 92 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $65 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Excelsior Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing