We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly luxurious accomodation in the beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool and terrace area of Villa 1.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and terrace area of Villa 1.
The main driveway up to Mandalay Villas The main driveway where our friendly Buddha is ready to greet every guest.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Pool and terrace area of Villa 1.
The main driveway up to Mandalay Villas
The main driveway where our friendly Buddha is ready to greet every guest.
Sunset over the Brokenback Mountain range
The spa bath of Villa No.1 looking out to the bush
Shower and toilet cubicles divided by the bathroom's vanity unit.
The fully fitted kitchen, with fridge, microwave, cooker, coffee machine and  eating utensils.
Entrance looking toward the living area of Villa 1.
View from terrace into living area and bedroom of Villa 1.
One of the villas lit by a full moon and the pool lights.
Stunning landscapes and views across to the mountain range.
A mother and child having their breakfast beside one of the villas.
Bicycles are provided at Mandalay Villas.
Guests enjoying a tipple by the fire pit.
Dawn sun washes over the main house.
A couple of bottles of what makes the Hunter Valley particularly appealing to guests.
Separate accessible bathroom.
Entrance hall to Villa 2.
Shower to the left and loo to the right in Villa 2
Double spa bath in Villa 2.
Main living area in Villa 1 with views out to the pool.
Dining area of Villa 2 with views out to the pool, and garden beyond.
Fully-equipped kitchen in Villa 2.
Comfy queen size bed in sleeping area of Villa 2.
Living area in Villa 2 with view out to pool.
Pool and terrace area of Villa 2.
Trail riding in the Congewai Valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Truly luxurious accomodation in the beautiful hunter valley”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked this trip last minute for 4 nights in April and the prompt service we received throughout from Toni and Simon was second to none. They provided us with a list of DVDs beforehand which were waiting for us in the villa on arrival. The breakfast hamper was wonderful with everything you could think of including bacon and eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt and more. We certainly intend to return to Mandalay Villas for future trips to the region.

The accommodation itself is nothing less than 5 star - both villas are completely private with their own plunge pool and there is nothing which has been missed. Everything down to the careful placement of the plants to ensure great views without compromising privacy has clearly been given careful consideration. Toni and Simon have achieved a level of exclusive luxury with their villas, a truly beautiful way to experience the hunter valley.

As hosts, the balance of privacy and attentiveness was spot on. They were very accommodating with recommendations of local wineries to visit and happily lit the fire pit for us which was perfect to enjoy a glass of red before dinner. Whilst everything we needed was already provided, it was clear that nothing would have been too much trouble.

In terms of location, the villas are very well placed. It is approximately 15 minutes drive before you come across endless wonderful wineries. Cessnock town is also about 15 minutes drive away which has everything you might need during your stay including supermarket, butchers etc,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
Thank you so much guys. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see again in the not too distant future.
All the very best, Toni & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise W
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, peaceful and welcoming”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed three nights at Mandalay and loved every minute! The attention to detail by Toni and Simon was appreciated. Our breakfast hamper was well stocked, the fresh flowers were lovely and the welcome card said it all. The villa itself is very well appointed. The bed was so comfortable! We made excellent use of the lovely pool and spa, whilst enjoying a beautiful view of the ranges. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Thank you, Denise. See you next time ... hopefully not too far into the future. Best Toni & Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a magic idyllic break”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My partner and I discovered this wonderful place by chance, whilst on a touring break in the Hunter valley.
Simon and Toni could not be more accommodating, the villas are superb, beautiful and private.
The breakfast hamper was great.
I had the most romantic time of my trip in Aus, and recommendations for the wine tasting in the Hunter Valley were spot on. So nice to have helpful and informed hosts.
The private pool was a bonus.
I would happily recommend this to all my friends both in the UK and in Aus.
I will be retuning on my next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the overall experience
Liked least: Nothing it was magical
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmwman995
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Idyllic Luxury Accommodation”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We decided to base ourselves here for a romantic stay in the Hunter Valley and ended up staying a week!
Not only is this a brand new luxury accommodation, it is also ideally situated for the wine tasting route and Hunter Valley concerts, both of which we ended up doing on the advice of the owners Toni and Simon.
On arrival we were allocated Villa 2 which is a newly constructed, detached private villa, purpose built for romantic luxury weekends away. Simon and Toni have thought of just about everything to make your stay a five star experience.
From the bubbles on ice, to the personal welcome card, to the breakfast hamper and our own personal plunge pool, everything was perfection.
The villa is actually built in an open plan style and is very spacious. Our villa was accessible and as such had a second bathroom with assisted facilities, which we did not need to use. I understood that Villa 1 is identical but does not have the accessible bathroom. I did not actually get to see inside Villa 1 as it was occupied by honeymooners whilst we were there.
We were amazed at the quality of the furniture and fittings, from a Barcelona chair, to artwork, to Temujin warrior ornaments; these are all top notch.
On one occasion Simon suggested a BBQ and we joined them for a great evening.
Simon also organized tickets for a local bus to take us to the Simply Red concert at Bimbadgen Winery, and picked us up at the bus stop afterwards. What a fantastic evening. I think it was the best concert I have ever been to.
Thank you Toni and Simon for all the thought you have put into setting up your villas. We had a fantastic stay, made all the more memorable by meeting you. If we get the chance to return we will definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion, privacy, quiet, location and convivial hosts
Liked least: Doona was too heavy for us. We just needed a sheet.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
Thank you Ken and Angela, it was a pleasure having you to stay here at Mandalay Villas. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to having you to stay in the future. Best regards Toni & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing