We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable and unwelcoming”

The Guest House Restaurant
Reserve with
The Guest House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dining at The Guest House Restaurant will leave you in no doubt as to why it is one of the Hunter's favourite restaurants for locals and visitors. Authentic Italian influences in the restaurant blend with a fresh, seasonal menu, complemented by a wine list boasting the best of the Hunter Valley. Enjoy the picturesque valley views with a romantic table for two on the outdoor terrace, or by the fireside in winter. Still a favoured meeting place for local winemakers and produce heroes, the atmosphere and friendly service creates an unforgettable dining experience.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable and unwelcoming”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My partner and I thought to try Chez Pok for breakfast as we saw its ranking on Tripadvisor. We were welcomed by an unfriendly 'tell them breakfast is over' before even asking what we would like. Despite our shock we asked for a coffee and were reluctantly said to choose a seat. For being ranked number 19 in Pokolbin we were very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi-May11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    22
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Cassandra looked after us and the food was fantastic.
We had the Roast lamb to share and it was cooked to perfection.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JOSEPH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expected a lot - very disappointed”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Chez Pok has been somewhere I've wanted to eat for some time. As we were staying at Peppers Guesthouse and the weather was terrible, it was the obvious choice. I wish we'd braved the rain.

The restaurant is an awkward mix of room and enclosed verandah, which can leave those out of sightline struggling for service and creates a dull ambience.

That's a minor issue compared with the fact that the restaurant charged top dollar - upmarket Sydney prices - but didn't deliver. Food was OK (nothing special) but either warm or, as in the case of the spatchcock, undercooked. The rest of the party had finished when the spatchcock returned from the kitchen, properly cooked.

The cost of the spatchcock was waived without asking, but the meal was one of the most memorable in recent times for all the wrong reasons.

This restaurant promises a lot but, on this occasion, came up very short indeed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service...great food”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We are locals and have dined here a number of times.
Ever changing menu keeps it interesting in the heart of the vineyards.
Great food and service....needs more Coonawarra Wine on the list

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shocknoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute Cottage Dining”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Plesantly surprised at the style of food at Chez Pok. Everything we had was beautiful. I highly recommend for pleasant but slightly pricier meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickystrougaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guest House Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Guest House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing