We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

The Guest House Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dining at The Guest House Restaurant will leave you in no doubt as to why it is one of the Hunter's favourite restaurants for locals and visitors. Authentic Italian influences in the restaurant blend with a fresh, seasonal menu, complemented by a wine list boasting the best of the Hunter Valley. Enjoy the picturesque valley views with a romantic table for two on the outdoor terrace, or by the fireside in winter. Still a favoured meeting place for local winemakers and produce heroes, the atmosphere and friendly service creates an unforgettable dining experience.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

lovely tables outside on the verandah overlooking the garden, very good food and service

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank avikone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    22
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sanctuary is very, very good!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have been in Sunctuary (they say it's a new name?) for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. The service, lovely home atmosphere and perfect meal made our day. The wise choice of degustation, recommended by a waitress, gave us a nice experience and we have tasted the main items from the menu. 95$ Degustation included 3 entrees, 2 mains and 1 dessert. If wines included you'll be asked to pay 135$ for degustation menu, but it was really nice.
The funny entertainment was a view of kangaroos through the window, which made the neighbouring Japanese customers extremely happy. So it was nice and easy, food was excellent and the bill did not look too overpriced.
We can recommend the new old Sanctury as a good dining experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
“An exciting Christmas Experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was lucky enough to accompany my family(10 altogether)to what proved to be an excellent 7 course degustation Christmas Lunch
.The wide variety of food seemed to cater to everyones taste.
The food was presented beautifully and tasted delicious.The service was as usual, of a very high standard.
At each setting was a Christmas Bon-Bon and an individual steamed Christmas pudding to take home .I thought this was a lovely Christmas touch!!

Can't wait for my next meal at Sanctuary !!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“six stars and more”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

without a doubt the best dinner I have ever had in 54 years on this earth. The service and food were fantastic and the quiet peaceful atmosphere was perfect, well done team.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We have now dinned at Chez Pok 8 times and each time i think it gets better and better. The only problem i had tonight was deciding what to pick off the menu.

I started with oven roasted baby beetroots with goats curd and mushroom tortellini, the flavours and textures all matched beautifully. This was followed by the pork belly and i have to say this is to die for. I always order pork belly this dish was the best that i have ever had. Then it was topped of with a rice pudding with butter icecream, sounds odd but is delicious.

The service was friendly and informative and the atmosphere was beautiful, most tables had occupants in tonight, but the tables are not cramed in and the noise is not overbearing.

I would highly recommend dinning here.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kel69g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guest House Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Guest House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing