We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience”
Review of Roberts Circa 1876 - CLOSED

Roberts Circa 1876
Price range: $0 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Circa 1876 (Roberts) is one of the best loved restaurants in the Hunter Valley. It has its own huge produce garden where much of the ingredients for your meal are gathered from daily. You can even go on a garden tour with Executive Chef George Francisco. All ingredients are sourced locally and are organic. Circa 1876 is perfect for all occasions and children are welcome. Bookings advised.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

There is no doubt this is a very good establishment. The atmosphere cannot be faulted, the service is attentive and pleasant and the food quality excellent. The wine list is extensive. However all this does not come cheaply and the place is at the upper end of the price scale even for Australia. Quality rarely come cheaply. We thoroughly enjoyed the occasion and would recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Henryadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    69
    49
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service didn't match food or prices”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Food great but service very,very disappointing.
- had to ask for predinner drinks.They arrived after entrees.
-bottle of wine was left on table; not tasted,not poured and it was the wrong bottle.Wine waiter never returned.
-Had to go to the front desk to ask for sugar for coffee despite flaying my arms about to get someones attention.
Staff were trying but didn't have much idea. Im not paying for Coles Cafeteria- if you want a 5 star restaurant and charge 5 star prices, train your staff and check whose overseeing them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rain56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa1876, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and the feedback on our service. We strive for great service but sometimes when training new staff, we fall short. Staff is very competitive in the Hunter Valley and often we are training them and other restaurant then approach them and they leave for what they believe to be greener pastures. Often we get the back but it is always a challenge. I will be using your feedback to assist us in future training and I appreciate the heads up.
I do apologise that you didn't get the service you wanted and deserved.

Best wishes

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Roberts continues to impress”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Dined there for a 50th birthday party - ended up deciding late that we wanted the front private room, all which was accommodated by the staff on a busy night with plenty of smiles. Food excellent, service even more so… will be happy to return again and again. Love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneySydneyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chef George excels”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I hadn't dined at Roberts for many years and last night had the good fortune to do so. This is the first time since George Francisco took over and it was a sheer delight fir the taste buds. I invited our crew along so there were 11 of us and had use of the private table and lounge area which added so much. The adjoining small room has been the room for hundreds of proposals as well.

The menu was a choice if three entrees and main courses, each of which were so different and interesting. From a double baked cheese soufflé to spanner crab salad first then a succulent superbly cooked steak, to a baked chicken dish, we all enjoyed.

The superb service, choice if wines and selection of decadent desserts made for a wonderful evening.

Looking at his new lunch menu, for all of you coming to the Hunter for a day of great wines, you must dine here.

This us one if the best dining experiences I have enjoyed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AussieIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top quality”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Took a bit of finding the restaurant but really glad we did. The food was fresh and perfectly cooked. We had the market fish - barramundi, Ocean trout and kingfish parcel and the duck breast. Then we went all out and had desert. The creme brûlée, death by chocolate and white chocolate ice cream were amazing. Very satisfied.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberts Circa 1876 also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing