We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roberts Circa 1876 - CLOSED

Roberts Circa 1876
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: Australian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Circa 1876 (Roberts) is one of the best loved restaurants in the Hunter Valley. It has its own huge produce garden where much of the ingredients for your meal are gathered from daily. You can even go on a garden tour with Executive Chef George Francisco. All ingredients are sourced locally and are organic. Circa 1876 is perfect for all occasions and children are welcome. Bookings advised.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently had our wedding day at Roberts and the food, venue and service was amazing.
Special mention to our wedding co-ordinator Sarah, who provided a great level of comfort when trying to organise our big day. The day went off without a hitch and the staff throughout the day where exceptional.

All our guests loved the wedding and the venue.

It's a place I highly recommend putting on your list of wedding venues if you are about to get married.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa1876, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on Circa 1876. We love having weddings at this special location and we are so pleased that you loved your special day as did your guests.

All the team at Circa 1876 look forward to seeing you again soon.


Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    69
    49
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Top class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a lovely meal here - very hard to fault. We had been to the wedding breakfast here and came back on the Sunday night for a meal with friends. The food was fantastic and matched with great local wines. The place is really attractive and interesting - all in all a great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa1876, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our restaurant. We always try and make each experience special and we hope to see you soon at Circa 1876.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dining experience in the Hunter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked the Private Dining Room (with some friends) and had the most amazing dinner - and phenomenal wine! Great service too. Thank you to Rebecca at Carriages for recommending this to us and for making the booking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa1876, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for your review of Circa 1876 and we are glad that you had a great experience. The private dining rooms in the cottage are very special. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks also to Rebecca for looking after you and recommending us.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The wedding was here and we had dinner there two nights later. The food, service and winelist was excellent, and the building is very interesting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank oceanlift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa1876, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for you review on our restaurant Circa 1876. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again real soon. As you are aware we have our own organic produce garden so the menu is changing constantly, so every visit is different.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here for lunch after reading reviews on the Internet. The restaurant is housed in a beautiful cottage. We were seated infront of the beautiful fireplace and were able to enjoy a lovely lunch.

The food is superb and I would highly recommend the 7 layer chocolate cake. We also enjoyed a stroll around the gardens afterwards.

Helpful?
Thank Anitaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa1876, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
How good is the seven layer chocolate cake? It is one of the favourites of all our customers and a real indulgence. You will have to come back and experience Roberts Circa 1876 in winter when the fireplace is in full flight.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberts Circa 1876 also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing