We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down”
Review of Roberts Circa 1876 - CLOSED

Roberts Circa 1876
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Circa 1876 (Roberts) is one of the best loved restaurants in the Hunter Valley. It has its own huge produce garden where much of the ingredients for your meal are gathered from daily. You can even go on a garden tour with Executive Chef George Francisco. All ingredients are sourced locally and are organic. Circa 1876 is perfect for all occasions and children are welcome. Bookings advised.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Let down”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely setting,taken to our table which was between two tables with very young children although the restaurant had very few tables takes. Children were fine but more thought by the waitresses would have been helpful. Long wait to order,had to call over in the end, even longer wait for wine and way over an hour after that for our meal. Excuse was the steak was over cooked. Food when it finally came was very disappointing. Steak was still over cooked but by then we wanted to leave. No more than 7 tables occupied poor service and poor food. We obviously got them on a bad day. I expressed my disappointment on leaving as this was a special day for us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaneD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your important input regarding Roberts Circa 1876.

I am sorry that your visit to our restaurant did not live up to your expectations. We will be sure to address the issues that you have pointed out.

There are no excuses for slow service and having to wait for your wine or water, and even though you should not have been sat next to the children, we would have been more than happy to have moved you if you requested, but you shouldn't have been sat there in the first place.

Please feel free to Private Message me and I would like to personally address the issues you had.

Best Wishes

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    69
    49
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“still got it!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Haven't been to Roberts for over 10 years but they didn't disappoint! Great venue, great service, great food and wine. Thanks guys keep up this fantastically consistent delivery of quality!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MCA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for you wonderful feedback regarding Roberts Circa 1876.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Please do not wait another 10 years to come back.

Best wishes

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply magical place for our wedding”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had our wedding at Roberts in November and it was simply wonderful. We wanted a unique venue with character and charm and fantastic food & wine, and Roberts met and exceeded all our expectations. We got married outside under the trees then had a drinks reception outside followed by a sit-down dinner in the restaurant. The service was great, food was spectacular and the whole feel of the day was magical. All our friends and family had a fantastic time and commented on the wonderful venue. We can't wait to come back to Roberts for our anniversaries!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonJosiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your wedding day at Roberts Circa 1876. It was a wonderful day and your guests were fantastic.

I am looking forward to seeing you back here for your anniversary in November.

Best wishes

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet Delight”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

the absolute best steak we have ever had by a long shot, should of come with a warning not to expect to eat desert with a 2kg rump for two of us, fantastic the staff are extremely friendly

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback for Roberts Circa 1876. I am glad you enjoyed your eye fillet. Yes, a warning for the size is a good idea.

I hope you can come back soon and have desert with us.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delicious lunch, thank you”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was an occasion lunch. It was $87 for two, including wine. We're not big drinkers, so one glass each was enough. It's nice to know that much of the produce is local. The vege garden is just outside the door. I liked the creamy crunchy polenta croquettes particularly. We loved dessert. At $16 I thought it was well priced and the serving of vanilla panna cotta was enough for us to share one. The historic surroundings make the atmosphere special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 359TravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideV, Owner at Roberts Circa 1876, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for you review of Circa 1876.

We are very proud of our produce garden and supplying the freshest ingredients of any restaurant in Australia. It is great to be able to sit at the restaurant and see the produce growing right there in front of you.

We hope to see you again soon to enjoy the garden.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberts Circa 1876 also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing