We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Roberts Circa 1876 - CLOSED

Roberts Circa 1876
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Australian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Circa 1876 (Roberts) is one of the best loved restaurants in the Hunter Valley. It has its own huge produce garden where much of the ingredients for your meal are gathered from daily. You can even go on a garden tour with Executive Chef George Francisco. All ingredients are sourced locally and are organic. Circa 1876 is perfect for all occasions and children are welcome. Bookings advised.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We ate at Roberts 24 September and the meals were fantastic, excellent. With only 3 nights in the Hunter Valley we went again 26 September. While one meal was still fabulous, my husband's meal of the braised beef was dreadful; dry and inedible. When the staff saw that my husband had not eaten much of his meal, they politely enquired and said that they would advise the manager/chef. Expensive for an inedible meal; no apology and it would appear, no care.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    69
    49
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
“When can I go back?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a delicious meal we had the pleasure of eating at our last visit to Roberts. Outstanding menu, perfect wine list and faultless staff. A must for any trip to the Hunter, without a doubt. Would happily eat there every night, if only we lived closer!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MabelSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Food briliant ,Ambience spectactular , set next to a 1876 slab hut but wine too expensive except on locals night BYO

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank haroldAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited Roberts restaurant last Friday. The food was beautiful (although a little overpriced). The service was excellent - did like their log fire lounge room for pre-dinner drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAGISyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Roberts is back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

So nice to see Roberts back on teh cullinary map. Back in the day I used to go there every time we vistited teh Hunter, however the last few times were a little disappointing. I am so glad Iwent back. The food was impecable and wine list was a treat. Service was excellent and of course the venue is not match by anythign else the Hunter has to offer. I did not realise that Roberts kitchen was now being run by a new chef. We met him, George on the night. So lovely and humble. We'll be back very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberts Circa 1876 also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing