We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to everyone”

Il Cacciatore Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Il Cacciatore specializes in Northern Italian Cuisine, it is not fast food. Each pasta , risotto and gnocchi is individually created in the pan, no premade sauces for us. Il Cacciatore is open from 6pm nightly. Il Cacciatore is licensed, reservations recommended Private dining room may seat up to 30 guests. The deck over looking the vineyard and dam is open during the warmer summer months, weather permitting. Take Out of pizzas and pastas are available for pick from 5pm nightly.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would recommend to everyone”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A very warm and welcoming restaurant with great staff who are very friendly and attentive.

We thoroughly enjoyed and entre of prawn and crab aranchini balls
Followed by a main of stuffed quail and a amazing fettucini bosciola

Would come back to thus restaurant in a heart beat was delish..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jodiehilleard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Il Cacciatore Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.- the Prawn and Crab Arancini are certainly popular. We only wish that more people like yourselves take the time to tell us of your wonderful experience, many tell us on the evening but few bother to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Il Cacciatore Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    189
    68
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

What has happened to this restaurant? 2 years ago my wife and I had a wonderful experience here, but just recently (July 2014) our experience could not have been worse. Both fish and scallops were served frozen in the centre, second time around the scallops were still uncooked. Service was poor and inattentive and the atmosphere was cold as the pebblecrete floor. 1.5hr to receive mains, over priced and not one apology or expression of concern from the owners when appoached...never again here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Il Cacciatore Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take all reviews seriously and research the situation and speak to the necessary staff before responding.
Atmosphere is a personal opinion and if you felt that the atmosphere was ‘cold’ then you are entitled to say that. However, as your visit was in the middle of the school holidays and the restaurant was very busy, I can’t see how the atmosphere could have been ‘cold’! I cannot comment regarding the time your meals took, as too much time has passed to check, however I do know we have had an incredibly busy week.
I will comment on the other points you have mentioned.
With regards to your comment on ‘frozen’ scallops; the scallops are seared (slightly caramelised) on both sides in a special heavy bottom pan used only for cooking the scallops. A scallop cooked through will be tough and rubbery. We never cook scallops from frozen! They do arrive frozen as do our prawns, however they are defrosted for 24 hours in the cool room prior to being used. We always have one days scallops defrosted ahead of time, so for it to be frozen just doesn’t make sense. There are only two people who have cooked entrees over the last 2 months – myself (the owner) and our Head Chef with 30 year experience, and I can assure you we do not cook scallops from frozen. Neither of us has been asked to cook a second order of scallops for any table over the last two months. The only diner who has complained about the scallops complained to our son Cameron who offered an alternative, however that diner was not interested in allowing us ‘fix the problem’. Cameron did care which was why he offered an alternative.
Our beautiful North Queensland barramundi is delivered ‘fresh’ not frozen 3 times a week. We do not have to freeze fish because we turn it over so quickly – we are open 7 nights per week. So, the fact that it was frozen in the middle is also a weird phenomenon - normally when you apply heat to food it cooks not ‘freezes’. If you are the person who claims to have spoken to the owner (our son) your table did not in fact order Barramundi your table ordered gnocchi, veal, beef and spatchcock – no Barra!
You did not speak to either my partner or myself (the only owners) at any time, we would remember if you had. We work way too hard not to care and would have removed and replaced your meal immediately, we care about our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Even if you're not staying at the Hermitage lodge, I highly recommend dinner here. The staff are excellent and I can't find fault with the food. I had the gnocchi, and it was superb. Also, we decided on dessert, and the creme brulee was one of the best I have had. Thank for for an amazing food experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Il Cacciatore Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you thank you thank you. All the staff whether in the kitchen or on the floor work very hard to try to give the best possible dining experience. There nothing like a review like your yours to lift the spirits of everyone. Thank you for choosing Il Cacciatore and thank you for writing your lovely review..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Takeaway just right”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Simple, fast and tasty. Meals were ample and not a huge choice on the menu for takeaway which solved all arguments.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrsphiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine weekend dinner”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had the pleasure of dining at this fantastic restaurant last Friday, party of 11, everyone thoroughly enjoyed great Italian.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wishbonenewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cacciatore Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Il Cacciatore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing