We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely NOT to be missed....”
Review of Elizabeth's - CLOSED

Elizabeth's
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon tea, with a range of wines from the outstanding McWilliam's Wines portfolio. We are also available for evening group bookings and weddings from 20 to 120 people.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We visited for lunch mid-week so we had the small restaurant to our selves although there were several tables available for restaurant patrons outside under the verandah.

As a starter, the toasted Turkish bread with cheese, olives and thick sliced bbq'd salami was very tasty as were the duck spring rolls as an entree - beautiful thin flaky pastry, excellent filling with a very tasty dipping sauce.

The two mains were very nice indeed - seared lamb in a salad and pan fried salmon on a salad with accompanying beer battered chips.The salads were both new to the menu for summer and are recommended particularly the one accompanying the salmon.

Two excellent cappuccinos was all that could be managed afterwards which is a shame as the dessert menu was looking pretty good and it was very reasonably priced.

Our waitress, Yvonne, was very helpful and personable and our Entertainment card was accepted with no problem. The only issue now is that we now have to make a return visit in order to try out the desserts.

Even though the restaurant could perhaps be noisy when full, it comes highly recommended due to the excellent food as well as the extensive wine list. There is a huge wine tasting area just next to the restaurant so ample time needs to be allowed for lingering there prior to a lunch or dinner reservation. The Verdhelo is particularly smooth and palatable but there is a host of wines to cater for all tastes.

We'll definitely go back - soon, hopefully.

Thank Stewey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hi - much appreciate your review of Elizabeth's - our chefs are doing a great job and we are glad you enjoyed the dishes. Yvonne was also pleased to be mentioned and would love to welcome you back again.
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Elizabeth's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great little restaurant in the Hunter, strong recommendation for Lunch or Breakfast (did not go for dinner but expect it would be great ).. Cafe style with great range of local dishes set in the vineyard ( Mount Pleasant). Service great and very relaxed atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi Ross, thanks for your great review, it is much appreciated! We put a lot of thought into our menu, and work hard on providing great customer service. Thanks again and see you soon.
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Yes this is café dining but after fine dining for 6 days it is what my husband and I felt like and were not disappointed at all, my husband had the confit of duck and I had the Wagu open sandwich followed by the best scones in the Hunter Valley, staff all very happy including vineyard staff and was just a really nice relaxing non expensive lunch that we really enjoyed.

Thank sheenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi - thanks for your very kind words and glad you enjoyed our winter menu items. If you enjoyed the best scones in the Valley, then come back and try our breakfasts next time.
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My children & I decided to have breakfast here (not many other places were open of a Wednesday morning for breakfast ). It was so wonderful - fantastic (& very large) breakfast, great service & sat out in the sun looking across their vineyard. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AllyW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We love satisfied repeat customers! All our efforts with customer service and the presentation and quality of food are paying off - see you next time.

Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Great mid-week lunch. Slightly breezy outdoors in winter so decided to sit inside, still great view!

Wagyu burger and crispy skin salmon with fennel and herb salad, both were excellent with fantastic flavours.

Staff were great and cellar door just next door for some wine tasting!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TwoWeekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi - glad you enjoyed our views, food and the Cellar Door next door, and yes it has been a little cold recently so either in the cafe or in the full sun is the way to go!
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing