We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grapevines Boutique Accomodation
Ranked #4 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Oda, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing, great find!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for four nights at Grapevines at the end of December. The location is perfect - close to Hunter Valley Gardens, Hunter Valley village, a great Irish pub and plenty of wineries nearby. We definitely could have stayed longer here, can't wait to return! Michael was a fantastic host - sitting down and spending time showing us maps of the area and his recommendations. The breakfast was great, and really enjoyed our stay here. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Michael, the owner, was very helpful and friendly - allowing us to check in late and booking us on to a fantastic wine tour at short notice. The studio villa was clean and comfortable. It was a real pleasure to have a space to relax in, both inside and out, and to be able to prepare our own breakfast in the morning - food provided. If you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced and with more character than hotel/motel, I would highly recommended you stay here.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ERhule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at Grapevines for 2 nights for a nice weekend getaway in Hunter Valley. The location is superb, right smack dab in the middle of all the action and wineries. I don't think you could find a more central location. On top of the fabulous location, the place is incredible, set back from the road in the middle of a field, you can see the Blue Mountains and grapevines from your outdoor porch area. Michael is incredibly hospitable and spent time with me to point out all of the best wineries and restaurants, taking a lot of the guesswork out of our plans. His dogs are super friendly too! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We found Michael's Boutique by going to the 'Info' office in Cessnock - they recommended it to us and boy were we glad they did. The location is perfect for exploring the Hunter Valley. The room was very comfortable and clean, the breakfast was terrific. They supplied the yummy farm-fresh/free-range eggs, ham, toast and coffee. We got to prepare it to our own likes in the small but very efficient kitchen. It was a very enjoyable visit and we found Michael's warmth and humor perfectly in-line with the friendly, laid-back Aussie attitude we'd found almost everywhere. Having a late glass of wine on the patio with the stars out, and then having coffee on that patio watching the sun come up was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staygrapevines, Owner at Grapevines Boutique Accomodation, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you at Grapevines and were very pleased to know that you were able to take advantage of the views, the clear skies with evening stars (hope you discovered the Southern Cross), the sunrise and so on. We also enjoyed chatting with you about your part of the world so far distant from us - it is a great opportunity to catch up on places we have visited ourselves in previous times. You will always be welcome at Grapevines in you chance to come back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
459 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We've stayed here every Winter for the past 4 years now, and have never failed to have a wonderful experience. We've tried the studio and the bigger accommodations, and have found them all to be lacking in nothing. Michael was an excellent host, not to mention his lovely labradors. Waking up in this place was nothing short of perfect.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had booked a Studio Villa, but on arrival were informed we were to stay in the 2bedroom villa with large lounge/dining, kitchen and outside area. It was really lovely.
The bedroom was light, airy and really comfortable. So nice to have fresh air instead of aircon!!
The views from both the bedroom and the lounge area and deck were beautiful. Rolling, grassy paddocks looking over grapevines to the hills in the distance.
The villa was superbly equipped and the owner gave us fantastic information for nearby tourist spots.
The owners' two pet labradors were a real hit with us as they were so well behaved. We had been away from our farm for a week and madly missed our dogs!!
We would highly recommend this accommodation and certainly will stay here if we return to the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morriemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Grapevines is perfectly located has great views of rolling vinyards with native wildlife often close by , to say the place is Idyllic is an understatement.
The villas are spacious and modern with excellent facilites, each of them is self contained with a full kitchen.
We however spent most of our time on the large deck using the BBQ and enjoying the scenery after a long day of wine tastings.
Grapevines is conveniently located close to a number of major wineries making sighseeing a breeze.
Michael the proprieter was extremely helpful and friendly as were the two Golden Retrievers Chloe and Bacchus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OZ_Montey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staygrapevines, Owner at Grapevines Boutique Accomodation, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were particularly pleased to have your comments as you are so widely travelled and have a wealth of experience with accommodation venues in many parts of the world.

We were delighted to know that the many attributes of Grapevines Accommodation were
so much appreciated. We work hard on it with the satisfaction of our guests a primary objective. Thank you again and we will certainly look forward to a return visit in the future from you and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
1.5 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
340 reviews
2.6 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grapevines Boutique Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapevines Boutique Accomodation

Property: Grapevines Boutique Accomodation
Address: 1941 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grapevines Boutique Accomodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grapevines is a family owned and run accommodation centrally located in Pokolbin, surrounded by award winning wineries, restaurants, cafes, galleries, speciality shops and 3 championship golf courses. Our villa's are nested amongst beautiful boutique gardens on 12 acres set back 400 metres from Broke Road, creating a quiet and peaceful venue. The villa's are within walking distance to Harrigan's Irish Pub, Hunter Valley Gardens, Enzo's Cafe and David Hook Wines. The property offers spectacular views to surrounding vineyards, pastoral lands and mountains beyond - to the Brokenback Range and to the North the towering Barrington Tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grapevines Boutique Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grapevines Boutique Accomodation Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing