We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor accomodation”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pokolbin Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pokolbin Village
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor accomodation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I paid $225.00 per night, stayed two nights. Had explained when booking that I had a bad
back and needed good bed. Bed was awful, I could hardly walk after staying here.
The only good part was the restaurant. Very poor accomodation for the money.
It was telling that reception did not ask on checking out, how everything was.
This was listed as a resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princess255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    135
    52
    8
    13
See reviews for
54
156
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 days in advance and paid $150 per night for a queen and fold out. Apartment was spacious with a generous living area and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was the room did have a stale smell on arrival but opening the doors fixed that and the village's restaurant service was very slow at dinner and breakfast. But overall a good experience and the location is premium to access the wineries.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrissieTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a room that stank of vomit! Arrival was after 4pm so no one in reception at this "hotel" Called their after hours number, they told me no other accommnadation available, but would call me back which they tried to find a solution? Anyhow there was no return call! I had to find somewhere else and I am now trying to get Expedia to refund after spending 2 hours on the phone to India! I used to be a regular with Expedia and they really have lost me now thanks to their pathetic response "if you do not stay at the hotel we will not refund you as you are outside the cancellation period" Yeh and stay in a stench of vomit? Come on! This is exactly why Expedia as my agent has failed me! Trip advisor I hope your processes are better and you look after your users better than Expedia has just demonstrated.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

A nice way to waste a few hours looking at odd shops with weird apparel. Enjoyable, nice pleasant environment, and yummy ice cream on a hot day. Lots of shopping variety, from Christmas decorations, to books, to chocolate, to candles - something for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great place to stay, it is within walking distance to a fantastic restaurant called Blaxlands, there is a couple of boutique shops and a cafe on site where we had breakfast.... The staff are very friendly and very accommodating, the rooms are clean and spacious and very comfy beds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dream Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked for a wedding weekend at a special rate of $280 a night (note that this rate is not special and completely outrageous) Calling this place a resort is a joke. This is at best a mediocre motel nestled behind a strip mall catering to tourists. The pool is just a hole in the ground, you can definitely get wet but there are no chairs so don't expect to lounge around

Rooms are in an attractive airport hotel/corporate retreat decor and about as welcoming as a doctor's office waiting room. Beds are uncomfortable, sheets are cheap, water pressure is non-existent. Carpets are dirty and rips in the screen let the mossies in so you won't be lonely. Bar of soap was pre-wet for us, what service!

Checked out after 1 night and went looking for ANY other accommodation, happy to return back to Sydney rather than spending another night in the doctor's office. At least managed to get half of our money refunded for the second night but should have been all.

Found other less expensive accommodation down the road- clean comfortable with views of the vineyards and breakfast included. If you are thinking of booking pokolbin village hotel think again! Fortunately, you can find much better value in the valley.

Also waited 30 minutes at vittorio's for coffee in the morning...cancelled order and left, exhausted, hungry and ready to write my first trip advisor review to make sure no one else has their weekend ruined in the same fashion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

At $150 a night on a mid week special - this was really not good value. Maybe under $110 a night they would have happier travellers. Really this is just a motel with slick marketing.
Rooms are functional and clean. Reception on internet wifi is very weak, No coffee mugs, horrible motel style small tea cups, small milk sachets frozen in the fridge so couldn't enjoy a cup of tea, tiny swimming pool, breakfast location doesn't open until 8am. and reception was closed when we arrived back at 5.30pm. Called a "village" but when you want a village after the cellar doors are closed - it is a dud. what kind of service is that??
No cable tv, no DVD player. Frankly I would say it is a rip off
TIP - for good value breakfast, and great coffee try the cafe in the main street of Cessnock opposite the newsagent.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.4 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
6.0 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Village

Property: Pokolbin Village
Address: 2188 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pokolbin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Pokolbin, minutes to all the major attractions and event locations, Pokolbin Village offers unique 4 star accommodation with a charming and friendly "Village" atmosphere, ideal for the perfect short break. Surrounded by vineyards, Pokolbin Village features 4 star accommodation, a full-size tennis court, swimming pool, boules court, landscaped grounds and an array of on-site attractions to suit couples, families and groups. Relax by the pool, play tennis or browse the on-site attractions including The Pokolbin Winemakers Outlet (Cellar Door/Wine Tasting facility), The Pokolbin Chocolate & Jam Company, The Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop, Tempt & Vixen (art, jewellery and homewares)and the Pokolbin General Store (with a large range of essentials, gifts and memorabilia). Buon Cibo Ristorante is also conveniently located on-site and is open daily from 8.00Am the perfect place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, coffee and cake, lunch or dinner. Buon Cibo Ristorante is open for dinner Friday to Monday and breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. Bookings are essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pokolbin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Village Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Village Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing