We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really worth the money”
Review of Pokolbin Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pokolbin Village
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Not really worth the money”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nice and neat BUT for the money we paid you would expect the air conditioner to work and few little features - like the alleged wifi to work - we havent picked up their so called wifi yet.
It was definitely neat and tidy - no complaints there - but it is simply no frills accommodation with a deluxe price. This is in addition to their inflexible booking policy.

I'll give it a miss next time -There are definitely better value places to stay in the Hunter Vineyards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    142
    53
    8
    13
See reviews for
56
165
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

It was a great experience. We lived in deluxe queen suite.The suite was really neat and clean. Also we found the staffs really helpful and friendly. We loved the place and if we go again to Pokolbin, we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angle_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our family stay in d Homestead...well kept n really value for money...hunter valley is truly amazing...wish we had spent more time there..d facilities were up to par...my family enjoyed d stay there..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srisha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked 2 nights with hubby, mum, Aunty & Uncle..... Homestead was booked up for the 1st night so the staff were very helpful booking us in a Villa the first night (as there was a sofa bed) then 2nd night in the Homestead. Although the Villa was nice and the bedroom furniture was good, it really wasn't suitable for 5 adults. The sofa bed was a shocker, with a few springs already on the floor and you could feel every one that was left on it, it was the worst nights sleep. Onwards and upwards to the Homestead - note to hotel management: update your photo's as that is not what it looks like (not just the fire). In my opinion the verrandah should be on the side that faces the hotel not the side that faces the bins and the other trash laying around, we moved all the chairs to the other side to enjoy the view, although having to go through one of the bedrooms wasn't great. The bathroom also looked better on the website than it does in reality (with the bath as it now looks stark and empty). You should have left it as it was instead of trying to squeeze another bedroom in where the dining room was. Out of 4 bedrooms 2 didn't have wardrobes, 3 bedrooms were decorated nicely but the one next to the smaller bathroom as shoddy with just a bed base (not something you would associate with 4*'s). Its obvious that work is being done to it and it would be interesting to see what it looks like in the end. Staff were lovely & its a lovely location, I think it just needs a bit more work. Would go back but not with 5 in a Villa or the Homestead unless its finished.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was very central to all the wineries but was average in its appointments. Clean, comfortable and nice but nothing outstanding to write about. I would recommend it as somewhere to stay but it would not be my No. 1 pick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank HunterValleyLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is certainly not 5 star accommodation (eg: no cable TV, just the free to air channels) but its very clean, comfy and honest. Rooms were good, with lounge area and large-ish bathroom. Pokolbin Village is centrally located and is quite unlike many of the overpriced options marketed by travel agents for the Vineyards.
This is an ideal base to prepare for wine tasting and visists to the cellar doors and you must try the local cheese shop.
The restaurant is good value with an excellent breakfast!
Village is equipped with a clean and well presented pool for the kids and has lovely grounds surrounding.

An excellent place that is very good value for the Hunter .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 373RESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Would have been nice to have a kitchenette, but there were plenty of places around to eat at. We had a fantastic stay for 3 nights just after Labour weekend. We would go back for sure.

We arrived late at night and everything was sorted out for us. Very straightforward booking process.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.4 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.0 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Village

Property: Pokolbin Village
Address: 2188 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pokolbin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Pokolbin, minutes to all the major attractions and event locations, Pokolbin Village offers unique 4 star accommodation with a charming and friendly "Village" atmosphere, ideal for the perfect short break. Surrounded by vineyards, Pokolbin Village features 4 star accommodation, a full-size tennis court, swimming pool, boules court, landscaped grounds and an array of on-site attractions to suit couples, families and groups. Relax by the pool, play tennis or browse the on-site attractions including The Pokolbin Winemakers Outlet (Cellar Door/Wine Tasting facility), The Pokolbin Chocolate & Jam Company, The Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop, Tempt & Vixen (art, jewellery and homewares)and the Pokolbin General Store (with a large range of essentials, gifts and memorabilia). Buon Cibo Ristorante is also conveniently located on-site and is open daily from 8.00Am the perfect place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, coffee and cake, lunch or dinner. Buon Cibo Ristorante is open for dinner Friday to Monday and breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. Bookings are essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pokolbin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Village Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Village Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing