We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find - worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oishii

Oishii
Ranked #20 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great find - worth the trip”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I were having a great mother and daughter Saturday in the Hunter valley - my daughter being invited to a birthday party at Sabor - so we needed to eat some lunch to counter act the chocolate overload. After being turned away from another restaurant - due to a lack of a booking even though they were empty - the welcoming smells and service a at oishii was a wonderful find. Our sizzling platters with rice and miso were the best we have ever eaten - coupled with a glass of Tempus Two. Will definitely return on our next trip to the Hunter.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    214
    102
    38
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A LOVELY FIND!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Lovely staff and fabulous food, for a lunch before the concert. Highly recommend it! the Thai Beef Salad, and Green Curry delicious, and the staff super friendly and helpful!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RHONDA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bruce Springsteen weekend”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Took my wife to see Bruce and booked lunch here before the concert - the place was flat strap like a lizard drinking -but we where seated quickly and the service was great.
We ordered and the food arrived quickly and it was gorgeous, we really enjoyed it the with the atmosphere, food and service which was moderate in price - well done

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Finni66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlynch, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FRESH & AMAZING !!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We recently enjoyed a beautiful dinner here. The food was divine - so fresh and beautiful. Great service - we didn't book and we able to be seated as soon as we arrived. The sashimi was our favourite. The atmosphere and setting is amazing - would definitely dine outside during the day as you have a lovely view over the vineyards of Tempus Two. Reasonably priced - we had wine, two entree's, one main and two desserts which came to $102 - Will definitely be back next time we are in the Hunter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperia, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch spot”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We popped in for lunch- a popular spot for the tourists but they coped very well with our order- nice and quick service- outdoor seating was appreciated as the indoor seating with air-con was quite chilly! It's more expensive to eat outdoors than indoors but it was nice to sit and overlook the vines. If you love sushi- you can't go wrong!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenBarbour33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oishii also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Oishii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing