We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old fashioned food”

Harrigan's Irish Pub
Ranked #28 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned food”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have been quite a few times and enjoyed the food every time. Great variety of new and old fashioned meals. There is usually live music on Sunday afternoons.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank lostaussieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    445
    309
    109
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Irish pub without the irish”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Popped in for a late lunch with a few friends.

The pub is done up in a way that people who've never been to an real Irish pub (except the touristy ones) would expect an Irish pub to look, complete with a manic fiddler sound track in the back ground. The standard 'Disney' version of the Irish pub we see in Australia.

A few Irish beers on tap - which is good.

The menu is fairly 'pubby', but nothing overly 'Irish' about it - more the club style of grub.

The food was, however, good and was well presented and arrived fairly quickly. Not sure what the experience would have been like at peak dining time?

Overall it was good and met our needs for a quick and appropriately priced lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellin_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food was great, and also well priced It had a great atmosphere and lovely staff! We would definitely return next time we visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshleighBaldacchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hot breakfast on chilly morning”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Warm filling plentiful selection of pastries, hot food sausages, bacon, eggs, goulash, hash browns plus more, juices tea n coffee, and more I can't remember!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bad service, cold food”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My friend and I both ordered the hotpot pie with mash and veges. The pie itself was delicious, however the mash and grilled veges was barely warm, and the veges looking day old. While, abrupt, the waitress did offer replacement, plus offered free drinks and deserts. The deserts were delicious.

We made a reservation at checkin, but were put in a table right next to the swinging door to the beer garden, even though there appeared to be plenty of unreserved tables. The waitress found another table for us on request.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindasueba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrigan's Irish Pub also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Harrigan's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing