We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family-friendly”

Harrigan's Irish Pub
Reserve with
Harrigan's Irish Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“family-friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

not as pricey as some of the other eateries in Pokolbin - a good place to take kids and not worry about them being too noisy

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank avikone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    423
    281
    99
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok stopping point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stopped here for a feed during a wine tour. Was very busy on the day we went, most meals came out okay and was decent pub fair. One meal was completely forgotten though eventually came out when the server realised.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dy357lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Always good parties!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Really good place to go out when you are in Pokolbin/close to it. Can recommend it if you wanna have party with local Aussies instead of only tourists :)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mads P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“An insult to Ireland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

This place is no more Irish in anything it does.

Where to start - food prices were a shock for pub grub but in anticipation of its quality we ordered 5 meals. First two dishes came after 20 mins, the next arrived after 40 mins (medium rare without a sign of blood!!) and after everyone else had finished the two people waiting for their Guinness stew went to the bar to ask after one hour was there any sign - apparently the chef was waiting on the vegetables!! Food quality was dreadful and not even a sniff of an apology for quality or lack of it. As for some remorse for the one hour wait for two of the dishes - who were we kidding!!

Actually the response from the staff would nearly make you feel like it was our fault - I think they were more interested in listening into their security ear pieces and looking important!

We then asked for two Quattro's and were told that we had to order a mixer. When we said we didn't want a mixer we were told that could not serve us! Might I add the person ordering was in his 70's so it's not as if it was stopping youth binge drinking!! We asked to speak to the manager who confirmed he could not serve as it was policy and that the person who decided on this policy was not around. Use of cop on - non existent.

Prices, quality of food, attitude of staff and overall atmosphere are polar opposite to what you expect in any venue associated with being Irish. Do not go here unless you want to be ripped off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJLPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

So very well organised. What a delicious meal and great service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank nlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrigan's Irish Pub also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Harrigan's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing