We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely want to make Golden Door a yearly ritual if not more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely want to make Golden Door a yearly ritual if not more!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Golden Door was such an amazing experience... i wasn't sure what to expect and was a bit anxious being on my own for a first timer at Golden Door.

But from the get go... it was such a rewarding experience! Just the openness and the energy everyone radiated across every aspect of the program was just so encouraging! Jaye was a great Program Lead and all the support from the rest of the team was just excellent! The mix of activities where so well balanced throughout the days... i pretty much did the most I could as it was just great being in the company of people who are all about just having a bit of fun! Team sports and the dancing activities were so much fun!

The friendships formed through my stay is also beyond what I imagined, truly a valuable experience...

The Food was amazing... i didn't even crave the usual things i go for daily e.g. coffee, coke... etc. Happy with majority being vegetarian, super healthy but so scrumptuous! I'm still maintaining a relatively healthy eating habit and incorporating exercise weekly after leaving Golden Door ...have really begun to appreciate how much feeling great each day changes how you deal with things day to day!

The rooms were superb as well and the views of Hunter is just amazing... waking up for Tai Chi each day was such a treat to see the day break as we close out of the session!

It was well worth it and I would really love to make this a yearly ritual from here on...

Thank you to Golden Door and the team!!

Karen Diuco

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    25
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
58
180
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My five days at Golden Door Elysia was more than I could have hoped for. Rejuvenating, relaxing, inspiring and so much more. From the location(breathtaking views), accommodation (spacious, comfortable and well appointed villas), and food(nourishing and delicious), to the facilities (top class), activities (varied and fun), and staff(friendly and attentive), there is virtually nothing to criticise. I thoroughly recommend a stay at the Golden Door to anyone needing a catalyst for more healthy living, or simply to unwind.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great environment for a bit of fresh air, early nights & healthy food whilst abstaining from a beverage or two!
I hope to return again next year.
I think this says it all for a health retreat!
The staff were very professional and enthusiastic 24/7, I really don,t know how they keep up such momentum.
Easy place to go as a solo guest as most other people were also on their own when I visited.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eckles104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thankyou Golden Door
My 5 day stay was a wonderful life changing experience...it was great to spend time reflecting and focusing on oneself...I've been inspired...will be back...many stays to come...
Beautiful people...beautiful staff

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a truly amazing place and as a guest you can take as much or as little from the programme as you wish. The staff are dedicated and delightful, accommodation super comfortable with stunning views and the food plentiful and delicious. I cannot fecommend Golden Door enough...I have travelled from UK and started my Aus holuday here now four times. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Close to wellness centre helps but all rooms have wonderful views if the Valley and (vineyards)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelf1LSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This visit was my first stay at the Golden door and it wont be my last. The staff are amazing. They are friendly, motivating and very knowledgeable about all aspects of wellness. I have a few strange movement issues which the staff were fantastic about and helped me cater the exercise to what I needed to do and were understanding of my situation. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am hoping to return next year.

If you are going to do anything for yourself this year, Go and replenish your batteries at the golden door, you will never look back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisstiny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friends and I went to the Spa last weekend and had an amazing time. We all had treatments which were outstanding. My massage was with Cara, however, I found out the day before I was pregant so Cara tailored a head massage especially for me (I was due to have a deep tissue massage). She was brilliant about changing the treatment at the very last minute and I was very happy with the head massage that she gave me.

The views were amazing over the vineyards and all the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

My friends and I will definately be going back and would highly reccommend the Golden Door to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaparrott_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia

Property: Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia
Address: 165 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wellness, balance and vitality, reach new peaks, feel inspired to make lasting health choices and unveil a new more balanced you. The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia is a place where tired souls can be restored, new goals set and a wealth of knowledge gained to unveil a healthier, happier and more motivated you. All in the peaceful and serene surroundings of the Hunter Valley’s rolling hills, two hours north of Sydney. Whilst our facilities, accommodation and dining are remarkable, it’s the quality and warmth of our staff that keeps our guests coming back time and again. Our all inclusive health and wellness programs, provided under the guidance of our professional team, have been developed to motivate change and provide lasting results when continued back in everyday life. A holistic blend of exercise, nutritious cuisine, health education, relaxation and spa indulgence will allow you to discover new sources of energy and vitality. Located in the beautiful NSW Hunter Valley, The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia offers magnificent views of vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range and the opportunity to breathe fresh country air each day. Featuring 74 stylish villas with one, two or three bedrooms, this exceptional property is the only purpose built Destination Health Retreat in Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia Hotel Pokolbin
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing