We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOLDEN RETREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOLDEN RETREAT”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was given a voucher for my birthday as ny children thought I neaded a break desperately. My husband accompanied me and we experience the most wonderful time from the moment we walked through the Goldern Door. The food was delicious, the activities were great, seminars very informative and insightful, the spa treatments bliss. The surroundings were very tranquill and the villa comfortable. There is nothing like waking up at 6am to do tai chi on the mountain and watching the sun rise. A big thank you to all the staff for being so friendly, humorous and professional, they made our stay memoral. We will do this again, maybe twice a year!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    26
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
58
180
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went to golden door with my partner to celebrate his birthday!

Had a fab time in wonderful surroundings beautiful food amazing programme of activities an
exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

Had a swedish massage from emily after a 10km walk both were fantastic!

A truly wonderful experience!

Thank you for a great stay

and thank you to Karen in the restaurant for her warm+ friendly kindness!

jenny

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 610jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was my first experience of the Golden Door and one that I hope to repeat time and time again. From the moment you step through the door at Elysia you just know how special the week will be. From the tranquility of the cascading water fall feature you are gently guided to check in to the most picturesque and peaceful villa's and surrounds. You can't help but "let go" of all that once seemed so important! The team are there to ensure your experience is exactly what you need and nothing is to much. You are encouraged to do what it is you need to do throughout your stay and have options to fully engage or just simply relax. Surrounded by the lush green hills of the Hunter Valley Elysia optimises the essence of balance on every level.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have been several times now to the Golden Door Elysia. It is a magical environment in a beautiful setting atop a hill with 360 degree views of the spectacular Hunter Valley.

The staff are wonderful, the food is great (& healthy!) and the activities are varied and designed to meet all levels of fitness. If you want a relaxing 5 or 7 days break to detox or begin a change of lifestyle, this is the place to go!

Thanks to Brigid, Mel, Olivia and the Matts! See you all again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms at Elysia are set in a circle around the resort and all enjoy wonderful vistas of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A perfect long weekend getaway. Have been coming to Elysia for many years and always feel relaxed, calm and recharged by the end of the stay. I love the quality of the food, always fresh, nutritious and creative. The exercise program is varied and visiting for a long weekend allows you to do as much or as little as you like. The staff are friendly and always happy to assist. The treatments are delicious, a real treat particularly the massages, body scrub and facials. Would love to see them packaged up to more affordable levels so I can indulge in more. Whenever I leave, I'm thinking that I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaG674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have just spent 5 days relaxing, revitalizing and rejuvenating at the Golden Door – Elysia. As the name suggests Golden Door Elysia is a delightful paradise. Situated on a hill in the beautiful Hunter Valley, every room has magnificent views of the Brokeback Mountain Range. The accommodation is luxurious, the food is exceptional, and the staff are wonderful, and to top it off the spa was amazing, with pampering facials and massages. The daily programs catered for mind and body. I loved doing Tai Chi on top of Meditation Hill at sunrise. I have come home feeling relaxed and cleansed. I had forgotten how good it is to feel well. Thank you so much to the Golden Door and all the staff. You have given me the tools to start a new and healthier life. I highly recommend Elysia to anyone. We will be back!

Jeanne B

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A terrific place to go and recharge your batteries, or kick start your engine. A beautiful setting in the Hunter Valley with views over Broke back mountain range. The staff are highly professional and inspiring. You can get as involved as you like in all the activities on offer... you will never be bored.

Rooms are spacious and well equipped. All have balconies wit great views, but you never feel as if your neighbours are near. Very peaceful and relaxing stay... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenBear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia

Property: Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia
Address: 165 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wellness, balance and vitality, reach new peaks, feel inspired to make lasting health choices and unveil a new more balanced you. The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia is a place where tired souls can be restored, new goals set and a wealth of knowledge gained to unveil a healthier, happier and more motivated you. All in the peaceful and serene surroundings of the Hunter Valley’s rolling hills, two hours north of Sydney. Whilst our facilities, accommodation and dining are remarkable, it’s the quality and warmth of our staff that keeps our guests coming back time and again. Our all inclusive health and wellness programs, provided under the guidance of our professional team, have been developed to motivate change and provide lasting results when continued back in everyday life. A holistic blend of exercise, nutritious cuisine, health education, relaxation and spa indulgence will allow you to discover new sources of energy and vitality. Located in the beautiful NSW Hunter Valley, The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia offers magnificent views of vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range and the opportunity to breathe fresh country air each day. Featuring 74 stylish villas with one, two or three bedrooms, this exceptional property is the only purpose built Destination Health Retreat in Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia Hotel Pokolbin
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing