We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for larger groups to lunch”

Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 81 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Esca Bimbadgen is situated high on a hill in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country. Dedicated to the art of food & wine matching, Esca's modern Australian cuisine, fresh local and home grown produce and spectacular views make for a truly memorable dining experience. Esca's contemporary restaurant design features large glass windows and an open balcony allowing guests stunning wine country views over the Bimbadgen vineyards to the Brokenback ranges. Esca Bimbadgen is a regional restaurant, that uses produce sourced locally or grown on the Estate including lemons, figs and fresh herbs.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

The Esca Restaurant is located above the Bimbadgen winery, overlooking their own vineyards & the Greg Norman designed championship golf course & the Barrington Ranges.
The ambience is very light & airy with lots of outside tables to dine on a nice day.
We have visited Esca many times over the years & it never disappoints, with hearty servings of good food & a wide choice of their own wines by the glass.
On our most recent visit we were impressed with the starter of braised apple cider pork belly with a glass of their racy Fiano. The standout main dish was the seared locally farmed venison with a glass of their bright Tempranillo.
This is a great place for groups of friends to lunch, as there is plenty of room & the staff & kitchen are able to handle the numbers well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Hi. Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had such a great time and that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for your kind words about the venue. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 617 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Excellent experience. Luckily the first place we tried was full. Service was friendly and attentive. The food was superb especially the clams. And great wine as well. The two courses for $60 is excellent value as the meals were substantial as well as a treat for the taste buds. Will go again.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Hi. Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had such a great time, looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

We had always wanted to try Esca and it was good, but didn’t blow us away.
The entrees were the highlights. Burratta done very well and some of the best pork belly I have had.
The mains didn’t live up as highly though. The duck was ok - cooked well and tasty, but the beef cheek was tough and a little gristly.
One problem is the cutlery was no good - they need to use sharper knives. Both
mains were hard to cut and impacted the experience.
The matching wines were nice. The
meal was also very efficient - almost too efficient for this type of meal.

Glad we went - it was nice, but we will try other places on our next visit.

Thank EddyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Hi. Thank you for your review. We will pass this feedback onto our Chefs. Hopefully, you could give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

A spur of the moment decision by my wife and I to have lunch in the Pokolbin region of the Hunter Valley resulted in a delightful lunch at Esca. The service was first rate and the food excellent. The menu offers a small but extremely good range of choices with something to meet all tastes. Coupled with the meal are wonderful views over the vineyards which adds to the relaxing atmosphere. Definitely worth visting while in the Hunter.

Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Hi, thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you took that spur of the moment decision and come to visit us! we are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and had a great time. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018

There is a real wow factor when you drive up the winding road to Esca Bimbadgen and the wow factor continues with a first class dining experience in a truly beautiful setting. We opted for the A la Carte 2 course menu for $60 per person and were also able to use Entertainment Card so an incredibly cheap 5 star meal. The accompanying wine was delicious and I fell in love with the Pinot Gris and this enchanting eatery.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Noni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2018

Hi. Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had such a great time, looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant also viewed

 
 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing