We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new benchmark in food and service”

Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant
Reserve with
Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Esca Bimbadgen is situated high on a hill in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country. Dedicated to the art of food & wine matching, Esca's modern Australian cuisine, fresh local and home grown produce and spectacular views make for a truly memorable dining experience. Esca's contemporary restaurant design features large glass windows and an open balcony allowing guests stunning wine country views over the Bimbadgen vineyards to the Brokenback ranges. Esca Bimbadgen is a regional restaurant, that uses produce sourced locally or grown on the Estate including lemons, figs and fresh herbs.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A new benchmark in food and service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My beautiful wife and I had again the best experience eating here . We missed this year the Christmas in July specials so to come back over 12 months on did not disappoint . The food the friendly service and beautiful matched wine is perfect . The view looking out as far as the eye can see is so relaxing you can see as far as The great dividing range . This place will not disappoint everything just simply works its all good .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigdavedalegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    144
    48
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing desserts”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a Thursday night dinner at Esca. Service was fabulous with the right amount of time between visits from our waiter, and regular checks to make sure everything was okay.

Partner ordered the red tasting plate (3 entree sized portions of different dishes) matched with 3 Bimbadgen red wines. The food was delicious but small in size. Each portion was smaller than I would have expected to receive as an entree. I ordered the beef fillet which was also small. At $45 I would have expected a larger portion of beef or more than one beef ravioli. The flavours were fantastic however, the beef cooked perfectly and the mash and extras divine. We also ordered a side of "mixed greens". Normally I would expect "mixed" to include more than one vegetable but ours was only snow peas. Nice, but some brocolli or beans would have been appreciated.

We had lots of room for dessert so ordered the caramel creme brulee and the poached pear. The pear was perfectly cooked, with lovely vanilla anglaise on the side. The creme brulee was divine and accompanied by caramel ice cream which tasted exactly like jersey caramels, caramels bubbles and caramel salted popcorn. It all just worked and was amazing.

Overall, a very enjoyable dinner - just wish the portions were a little bigger for the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineKila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“As it was dark we only missed the view”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We missed nothing else. Friendly and efficient service and great food, well presented. We'll certainly come back one day soon for lunch to have the view as well.
The menu is not extensive but offers a good choice of meats, fish and vegetarian dishes. The wine list has local and other wines at reasonable prices. Ambiance is simple but comfortable. Wait staff are knowledgeable and friendly. What moe can you wish?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth money, we should have just come for views...”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Came here for a special lunch, after it was recommended to us by a local. Where to start...service was very slow, head waiter didn't know what the soup of the day was and when it came out, the portion was less than impressive. We had to wait for a long time for the mains and when they arrived, both were luke warm and again stupidly small portions. My partner had ordered a wine to accompany his main, but it never arrived. Both still hungry after the main, we ordered desert and having asked for the menu twice, finally arrived. Thankfully this and the view were the saving grace. What a shame they haven't got their act together. We were looking forward to doing dinner and watching Bernard fanning in Nov, but canned that idea.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueMoon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, amazing service!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here last night, and it was amazing! The service was impeccable, very friendly and knowledgeable. The quality of the food was very high, we had the poached prawns in brie sauce and pumpkin cubes in coconut jelly for entree, my husband had the smoked duck for main and I had the sirloin, both we delicious! And after a very high recommendation from the chef we had the creme brûlée for dessert - it came with salted caramel ice cream and caramel pearls, not only did it taste fantastic, it was presented beautifully. Well will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedlovesRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing