We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant

Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant
Reserve with
Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Esca Bimbadgen is situated high on a hill in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country. Dedicated to the art of food & wine matching, Esca's modern Australian cuisine, fresh local and home grown produce and spectacular views make for a truly memorable dining experience.Esca's contemporary restaurant design features large glass windows and an open balcony allowing guests stunning wine country views over the Bimbadgen vineyards to the Brokenback ranges.Esca Bimbadgen is a regional restaurant, that uses produce sourced locally or grown on the Estate including lemons, figs and fresh herbs. A feature of the menu are the Esca Tasting Plates, like a "mini-degustation", where guests can enjoy three 'tastes' from the menu each matched with a Bimbadgen wine.
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a lovely Lunch at Esca during the Summer. Food was exceptional, however it could be considered a little on the pricey side, especially for Lunch

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    139
    48
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cronulla, Australia
1 review
“The best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I go to Escas regularly and it is always an excellent experience. The view is perfect for eating fabulous food and drinking supberb wine. The staff are always friendly and attentative. I had the steak and it was cooked perfectly and the signature Shiraz matched it wonderfuly making the whole dining experience complete. I always look forward to going to Esca"s and whenever I'm in the Hunter, I make it a point to go to Escas's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Understaffed and underfed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were very disappointed with the service and the entree . We ordered yabbies Thermidor ... Sounds fantastic ... It turned out to be 3 very small fresh water yabbies ... They in total had the food value of one prawn but cost $27 .... ! My barramundi main was undercooked ... Which arrived 2 hours after we entered the restaurant ...
The whole process of getting water , ordering , etc was slow ... Friendly staff , but not enough of them ... 2 waitresses for 15 tables ....

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinotnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bad High tea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My mum and I love high tea, and this was unfortunately not the best. The crockery (which looked like they served to large conference groups) still had coffee stains, the sandwiches were stale, the tea was average, and the coffee I ordered was one of the worst I have ever had.
The sparkling Semillon, however, was fabulous!
Will not be back for High tea.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brookesaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raworth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A must try if you're are in the Hunter Valley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to this after many years and found a very lovely surprise. The menu was inventive. The food was very tasty and the service was exemplary. I had the white tasting plate which was great value and a lovely treat -3 small meals for a very reasonable $38. The most wonderful thing from my perspective was the lack of nuts on the menu (I am allergic) and the care taken to make sure that nothing was contaminated. The staff were great - friendly and very helpful and when something did go wrong it was sorted out with sure-footed ability and a gratis dessert. Well done Esca!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda56yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing