We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining with an exceptional service”
Review of Muse Restaurant

Muse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $174
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Muse has become renowned for not only its food but also for its professional and friendly service. Offering a season driven Contemporary Australian menu, the food is fresh and exciting without overcomplicating the ingredients. Using quality produce, sourcing locally whenever possible, the dishes show technique, restraint and respect.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine dining with an exceptional service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely amazing food and exquisite selection of wines. Our waiter Boris was an absolute gem, made the experience even more special. Can't wait to go back...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cLeo140878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    132
    46
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous experience all around”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had lunch there yesterday.
Wait staff extremely welcoming.
Service was outstanding.
Food is delicious.
Had the rose to accompany lunch-yummy.
Thanks guys-you run an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank earthangel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simple yet elegant dining.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

There is no liquid nitrogen or firework...but everything tastes delicious..the way it should be...staff were friendly and not intrusive...great experience on a winter night with fireplace and good wine...even the bread tastes heavenly! what more could you want?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SOONSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Muse for Dinner”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited on a Friday evening for dinner after making a reservation that morning. The restaurant was full, so I expect a booking is necessary to secure a table. The lighting was a little low for our liking but otherwise the restuarant ambience and decor is superb. A blazing open fire is a great feature and made sure everyone was cosy. We had a table near the kitchen and as it is open plan could see the chefs at work. Excellent food and very attentive service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank damianpaulevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service and food five star”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My Fiance and I dined at this restaurant on Thursday night and I must say it was a very pleasurable experience. We arrived a little early for our reservation so were seated in the bar area and were looked after by Boris who did a magnificent job all night, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was absolutely amazing the quality was sublime. For entree I had the Kingfish which was a special and my fiance had the scallops - amazing, Main we both had the beef carparccio on a wild mushroom risotto this is a 'must have' dish the quality of that beef was unbelievable - we shared a dessert as there was not much room left but after the beautiful dinner it would be wrong not to try a dessert again it was beautiful. We also had our waiter Boris suggest wine to match our main and to our surprise he nominated a French White Wine to go with our main that was absolutely delicious!!! All in all the restaurant provides a true fine dining experience. The staff await you at the door, seat you, take your coats and are knowledgeable in what they are serving. Portion sizes are not your usual for fine dining (IE you will not leave hungry that's for sure) They also provide beautiful complimentary bread and amuse bouche between courses. Do yourself a favour and try this place - I have been to Tower's Nine Restaurant also in Pokolbin at $250 per head and I can tell you I'd choose Muse over this place any time - to our surprise the bill was very reasonable (nowhere near that on Nine restaurant). All in all there is nothing I would change about this experience. Thank you to all Muse staff who make it happen. Also of note there were two big groups having dinner that night and the service never failed to impress - Well done Muse!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyMacK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muse Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Muse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing