We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivals any top Sydney Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muse Restaurant

Muse Restaurant
Reserve with
Muse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $165
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Muse has become renowned for not only its food but also for its professional and friendly service. Offering a season driven Contemporary Australian menu, the food is fresh and exciting without overcomplicating the ingredients. Using quality produce, sourcing locally whenever possible, the dishes show technique, restraint and respect.
Sydney
Level Contributor
166 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Rivals any top Sydney Restaurant”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We visited Muse onThursday after wanting to go there for some time. From speaking to people in the Hunter Valley we had high expectations. We started off by sitting the fire and having a pre dinner drink before being seated by our waiter Boris.

I will start with the service which was faultless. The service is a high light and is very fine tuned. The service was friendly, attentive and unpretentious. Our waiter Boris was fantastic. I thought the service at Muse was much better then a number of two chef hatted restaurants we had dined at.

The food was amazing the scollops with the butter sauce and chorizo crumbs were delicious (Thanks John the Pom at Petsons for this tip). We also had the quail risotto. The quail was juicy and the risotto creamy. For mains we had lamb and my wife had the venisson. Both were perfectly cooked. For dessert I had the creame brulee.

If you want a memorable dinner this is the place. I dont think it will be long before Muse moves from one chef hat to two. I cannot wait to go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    127
    45
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellence all round”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a family birthday lunch - everything was excellent. The quality of the food was high, the atmophere was good - lots of people were in the restaurant but we felt like we were there on our own. The waitress was friendly and obliging - not over the top but everything was taken care of. A lovely experience and we will return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Opalite-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent degustation, must visit”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Came here on a saturday night for our anniversary dinner, its a lovely ambient place helped with the large fireplace as the focal point of the restaurant. The place was fully booked, the service was excellent and the food at $110 for the degustation was great value compared to many others I've tried that were definitely not as good and more expensive. Everything was presented beautifully and tasted great. Definitly a place to come for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,023 reviews
2,820 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,819 helpful votes
“Top in the Hunter”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Still haven't been able to get in for dinner - always booked out and it's hard to be spontaneous and get in.
However, have been for lunch a few times and my instinct says it may be better for lunch.
I love sitting outside amongst the vineyards and sculptures - it's a wonderful way to enjoy an afternoon with friends.
Presumably the dinner menu is different but the quality and diversity of the lunch menu was first class - simple options suitable for a casual lunch and a wide range of excellent wines to choose from.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Muse is definitely deserved of its title as best restaurant in the Hunter Valley. We had dinner here and had the delicious tasting platter. The food can't be faulted and had amazing balance of flavours. Beautiful presentation along with great service.

If I have to nitpick then it's that we were seated right next to the bar and kitchen entry when there were better window seats available the whole time we were there. Also I had one pin bone in my salmon dish. Lastly there was a large bus load of people in the bar area making a large ruckus which would not have mattered as much had we been seated not next to it.

But overall a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sqams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muse Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Muse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing