We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”

Amanda's on the Edge
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

the food was nice and we had a very attentive waitress. great place for lunch so that you can really enjoy the view .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dragonlady02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    271
    96
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amanda's has lost its edge”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This has quietly been an institution in the Hunter Valley. A romantic little place with a cosy atmosphere and good food in a quality dining setting.
Not now. No more tablecloth, the service is lacking and the food forgettable. Not sure what it has to offer now. We had lunch and it might be a different set up to the evening, but we were there to quietly sit back and enjoy the afternoon. Instead the experience was far from its heritage.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good experience with equally good food”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The service was good as was the atmosphere. All our meals were well prepared and presented. The highlight for me was the hungarian crepe! My sister-in-law also had this and agrees. The wife had a rack of lamb and I had duck. Both were good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hearty Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have heard great things about Amanda's in the past and was looking forward to the experience when we finally got a chance to get away to the Hunter for the weekend.
I started with the duck pate and that could have been a meal in itself. It was delicious but the amount that was serve in a glass combined with bread made me full without the mains. The only light dish on the menu was the tomato and bocconcini salad to help balance the mains, was also very nice and fresh, and kept simple. My wife really enjoyed her lamb rack that was cooked 'pink', and served on spinach puff pastry swirl. My steak was cooked m/r to perfection. The service was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NathanGrange81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Put on your bucket list!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Have had lunch here twice and loved it so went for dinner, absolutely the best! Great menu and wine list and great atmosphere. Can't wait to return..

Helpful?
1 Thank Ajsorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amanda's on the Edge also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Amanda's on the Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing