We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & quality was awesome”

Restaurant Botanica
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $42
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Australian yet regionally distinctive in style, the menu at Restaurant Botanica is focused on seasonality and freshness, perfectly complemented by an award-winning wine list and stunning views looking out across our private vineyard to the Brokenback Mountain Range. The restaurant's very own kitchen garden is the source of many of the herbs and vegetables that add a wholesome and healthy dimension to the dishes.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Quite a small and intimate venue which was perfect for my partner and I to celebrate our anniversary. We ordered three courses and were also provided with one complimentary ocean trout ceviche entree and some salted carmell macaroons after dessert. Highly reccommend the zuchini flowers and donuts.

Thank TheMaybz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Hi TheMaybz,

Thank you for choosing Restaurant Botanica to celebrate your anniversary. We're very glad to hear you had a wonderful evening an enjoyed all of your meals. We think the donuts and the zucchini flowers are very delicious too! Hopefully we can entice you back to our restaurant to celebrate many more anniversaries to come.

Warm regards,

Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 748 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We had two dinners here while staying at Spicers.
The 5 course degustation menu with accompanying wines was delicious! A small amendment to the menu was no trouble for them and they catered for my nut allergy easily. The pork belly was so good we had it again the following night.
We also had a three course meal which was outstanding value as the food was just so good.
The team are all helpful and attentive, Darcy made us feel particularly special.
The atmosphere is lovely with a warm wood fire and tasteful simple decor.
I hope to be back again soon!

Thank melliek98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi melliek98,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We love to make all of our guests feel extra special, and Darcy is extremely happy to know she was able to assist you whilst dining with us during your stay. Fingers crossed you will be visiting again soon.

Warm regards,

Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went here for dinner on Friday night and it was absolutely beautiful. I booked based on the reviews and it was superb. We had the 2 course meal entree and the main and they were both really nice. The beef eye fillet for main was to die for. Will definitely come back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We love the beef fillet too, and it is certainly a favourite with many of our guests. Great to hear that you will be visiting again soon, hopefully you get a chance to try our delicious desserts and cheese too.

Kind regards,

Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Service was faultless, ambiance and service was casual and really felt at home, though everything was still professional, which I really liked.
Food was absolutely superb, had the 5 course degustation with wine. The pairings were fabulous. However, desert rather than cheese for the final course would have been nice. Nothing else to add! Must try-my favourite in the Hunter!

Thank Jag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi Jag G,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. The 5 course Signature Menu is a lovely way to sample our menu and we are glad to hear you enjoyed it. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

From start to finish the service, atmosphere and food was AMAZING! I can't remember being that impressed by service in the past. The menu is fabulous, the staff attentive and genuine. The food was amazing, our table of 6 felt like VIPs.. And the prices are really reasonable. I can not rave enough of this place and would happily drive hours out of my way again for another opportunity to dine here. Keep up the great work guys!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vungtaucnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your "The best in years. Period." review. We love to make all our guests feel extra special and it is wonderful to hear that you felt like a VIP. We will certainly keep up the good work and look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing