We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly, parsley is in season”

Restaurant Botanica
Reserve with
Restaurant Botanica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $42
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Australian yet regionally distinctive in style, the menu at Restaurant Botanica is focused on seasonality and freshness, perfectly complemented by an award-winning wine list and stunning views looking out across our private vineyard to the Brokenback Mountain Range. The restaurant's very own kitchen garden is the source of many of the herbs and vegetables that add a wholesome and healthy dimension to the dishes.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Clearly, parsley is in season”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had high hopes when visiting Botanica based on the stellar reviews it seems to receive. I wouldn't say we were disappointed by our experience but we felt there was just a little something lacking that denied it's 5-star status for me. We sat at one of only a few tables with linens which I would have expected a restaurant of this calibre to have at all seats (though I appreciate the management's desire to be less stuffy and more low key). The food was great but not outstanding: the amuse bouche was tantalizing but my soft shell crab entree was swimming in soy sauce and consequently too salty. We also enjoyed our parsley mains - both with a side of beef. Perhaps less of the leafy green would have allowed our respective dishes to flourish.
The affogato dessert course was a good finisher. The service was warm and friendly but we left on a sour note having been charged a holiday surcharge on the Saturday of the Easter long weekend, which technically is not a public holiday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAN_in_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear CAN_in_AUS

Thank you for taking e time to write a review on Restaurant Botanica from your Easter visit.
Restaurant Botanica promotes itself as a relaxed regional restaurant, with a big emphasis on showcasing produce from our own extensive kitchen garden and promotion a highly organic an green country experience. We made a conscientious decision over 12 months ago to remove table cloths from the restaurant tables to reduce energy consumption with laundering linen and had the most beautiful timber tables made locally for us from sustainable timbers. We appreciate your lovel for table cloths and preference for less fresh herbs on your meal, yet both of these features are part of what creates Botanica's organic and relaxed atmosphere and embodies our green philosophies.

We are pleasedt that your enjoyed your meal over all and hope you get the chance to come back again so we can truly wow you. I am sorry to hear you felt we had incorrectly charged you a public holiday surcharge. Easter sat and sun are not national public holidays but they are definitely NSW public holidays which obligates us to adhere to public holiday double time for all employees. You can visit the following website for any further clarification but I assure you, we would never try to overcharge any guests. Our public holiday surcharge in no way covers the additional costs of opening on a holiday, it is simply to try to reduce the loss and continue to offer a service to visitors to the region.
http://australia.gov.au/topics/australian-facts-and-figures/public-holidays

Please feel free to contact me personally for your next visit to Botanica so that I may look after your arrangements and ensure you get the 'wow' factor as this is what we try to achieve for every guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    155
    44
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great location, welcomed with a glass of wonderful bubbly to celebrate a birthday, perfectly cooked and delicious food made for a memorable evening. Staff were attentive and pleasant and it wasn't overly expensive either!! Definitely one to return to!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeeperSydneyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
KeeperSydneyNSW thank you so much for a great review!!
The team are so pleased you enjoyed your experience so much and can't wait to welcome you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely meal with great service”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Really enjoyed our meal here, lots of really nice little extras and the service was impeccable. Food was delicious - everyone at our table of four was delighted with their meals!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizz173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great food and ok service! We went last night and had a great time. No need to go into the service just felt a bit unorganised and it took awhile to get a few things we were wanting. The food was beautiful though! I love the fake curtains too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service. High quality, fresh and creative cooking. They grow their own vegetables in their kitchen garden and the food was wonderful. Very generous and gave us free champagne for our anniversary. Great foodie experience with a personal touch.

Helpful?
Thank Sareymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Saremary

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for choosing Restaurant Botanica for celebrating your anniversary- we love spoiling guests celebrating special occasions,

Please be sure to visit again for some more spoiling in the future!

Kind regards,
Belinda Stapleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing