We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best dinner ever!!!!”

Restaurant Botanica
Reserve with
Restaurant Botanica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $42
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Australian yet regionally distinctive in style, the menu at Restaurant Botanica is focused on seasonality and freshness, perfectly complemented by an award-winning wine list and stunning views looking out across our private vineyard to the Brokenback Mountain Range. The restaurant's very own kitchen garden is the source of many of the herbs and vegetables that add a wholesome and healthy dimension to the dishes.
Cranebrook, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best dinner ever!!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Botanica was an experience and a half in a beautiful location. We read reviews on trip advisor and decided to go for our 5th weddding anniversary. I booked a few weeks out and got a table near the window with the view of vineyard and the mountains as a backdrop. We were not disappointed, food was amazing and the service was second to none. Would go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    155
    44
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Exquisite,exceptional and thoroughly professional”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Botanica was by far and away the best restaurant of our entire trip to Australia. We enjoyed two nights here and would have happily returned every night until we had exhausted the menu.

It was in a beautiful location in the Hunter Valley and from the moment you entered it was obvious that this place had style,class and and ambience. The restaurant is arranged so that there is plenty of space between tables. The decor is elegant, well-thought out and the service undoubtedly the best we had anywhere. The staff were knowledgeable, enthusastic and seamlessly efficient. They were friendly and fun without being too intrusive. This is a restaurant that evidently chooses and trains its staff well.Service was first class from start to finish.

The food was of the highest quality with fresh ingredients from a chef who has just the right balance between presentation, inventiveness and flawless technique. The quality and consistency of cooking across the piece was incredible.

There was plenty of choice and it is hard to recommend one dish over another. The desserts were historic! Both evenings we left with a wonderful sense of occasion,gastronomic memories and thoroughly indulged on all levels. This is one restaurant that I want to visit again and again.

It has panache oozing out of every corner - I cannot recomend it too highly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cosmos57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“delightful dinner”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Botanica was recommended by our hotel nearby. The atmosphere of the restaurant with veranda and the choice of food and wine was good. The dinner what we got was the best we have had on our trip in Australia. The portions were not overwhelming but excellent in taste. The service was in line with the quality of the food. They deserve a Michelin star!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchs Forest, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing and Romantic Dinner For Two”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Whilst my girlfriend and I were on a romantic holiday in the Hunter Valley, we decided that we must go out for a sweet and romantic dinner and we picked the most amazing place in the Hunter. I took her there for dinner and the night we had was nothing short of amazing. The service from the moment we sat down at the table to the moment we left was outstanding. The girls that served us throughout the night were delightfully bubbly. Every part of the meal was nothing short of culinary excellence. The meal was full of flavour and beautiful colours and made you want it to never end. The views that look out across the vineyard are beautiful just as the sun is going down and as we stepped out to be picked up at night the place lit up looked amazing. If there is one place to check out whilst you are in the Hunter Valley, make sure its this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quirindi, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food & Professional Service”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had the most amazing dinner here. From beginning to end not only the entree, main & dessert but also the great range of wines by the glass, complimentary bubbles and exceptional sourdough! Waitstaff were attentive and knowledgable. What a wonderful stay in the Hunter, beautiful rooms with a fab restaurant and the same attention to detail for breaky too!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing