We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal we have had this year!”
Review of The Beltree - CLOSED

The Beltree
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Relaxed Modern ItalianLunch Friday | Saturday | Sunday | MondayDinner Friday | Saturday | Sunday of a long weekendRelaxed LunchBYO wine Lunch only corkage $12 per btlDinner 2 | 3 | 5 course.Groups 10 & over Italian Table Menu 2 | 3 courseBoutique weddings and special occasions on request
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“The best meal we have had this year!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went here for lunch on Monday and noticed that the premises had previously been the Margan restaurant prior to their move to Broke. We then perused our menus with some trepidation as we had a very disappointing lunch at Margan's on the previous day.

Well, what a tale of two restaurants! My wife said that her vegetarian entree and main were both excellent. My gnocchi and meat entree was just delightful and the roasted duck main was superb.

All servings were generous and well presented and my only criticism is that the wine list was not appropriate in selection or price for the Hunter Valley. We should have taken the BYO option even though it is a rather steep $12.

We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    25
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service in a cozy setting”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We dined at The Beltree over the weekend because of it's TripAdvisor rating and close proximity to our hotel. The young woman who served us (apologies for not remembering her name!) was absolutely wonderful. She was very knowledgeable and assisted us with gluten-free menu items and wine pairing. The food was great and would definitely eat here again. Only complaint is that pricing and menu options were not clear on the menu. More a la carte options should be considered. Overall, it was a great experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a great evening at The Beltree as part of a weekend away. The staff were attentive, friendly and dealt with my allergy with no fuss, confirming that ingredients could be removed, giving us great confidence. Both our starters were as good as we've had in several of the top restaurants in Sydney, my wife had the goats cheese and beetroot salad while I had the gnocchi with wagyu ragu, both fantastic. Mains were almost as good, especially my balsamic roasted duck. A great cheese plate and dark chocolate pudding finished off a very enjoyable experience. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RTmT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced & over rated”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After reading several reviews and word of mouth I thought this is a must visit restaurant, but I think some of the people writing these reviews do not know the difference between good food and great food. Be prepared to be presented with a menu that interesting, but the food just doesn't match up. Also there is no prices for any of the meals, what is this??? they keep you guessing until you get the bill, maybe I should have offered $100 for the over $200 bill for two people and we only had one glass of wine each (wine is way over priced). The food wasn't all bad , but when my wife and I looked at each other and know we can cook better with some of the dishes (we had the tasting menu, which is suppose to give a broad experience of what is on offer) I worry especially when there is a trained chef in the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fine_diner_1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful night”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Food was great. We had the fungie (excuse spelling) which was absolutley amazing and cappacio for entree. Shared the pork for main.
Service were friendly and always checking up for drinks or light chat.
There was a fire inside which kept the place warm on a cold night.
Overall very happy and full, great reccomendation from tripadvisor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beltree also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing