We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly reccomend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cellar Restaurant

The Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly reccomend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Excellent all the way around! From the food, to the service and the dessert was simply to die for! YUM!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    117
    44
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I have been to the Cellar Restaurant numerous times over a period of 20 years. The restaurant is consistently good - somewhat of an achievement considering it is not a family run establishment. Additionally it is one of only a few restaurants of note in the valley to be open early in the week - which in my opinion is the best time to visit (no crowds, far better wine tasting experience at cellar doors).
The current menu is a little left field with a choice of standard a la carte, tapas style "bites" or "build your own meal" style. Overall food quality was very good but "build your own meal" is reminiscent of RSL club dining and some of the tapas "bites" which we had for entree found there way into main courses as well - very generic.
Service seems to vary according to other reviewers but on the night of our visit our waitress Dimity was absolutely world class.
For fine dining early in the week the Cellar Restaurant is recommended but from Thursday onwards choices for fine dining in the Hunter Valley open up considerably.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not a fan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

the service was horrendous,the price was over the top and my chicken was just to dry.hubbies steak was to over cooked and I didn't even stick around for the dessert.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnasgreatidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dined here on our anniversary and were wowed by the food! Pricey though - most mains were around $35 and sides were $9 each which certainly added up. The waitress was very knowledgable about the origins of the food, the chefs particular favourites, and wine pairings to suit our choices. The food was indeed a taste sensation of subtle flavours and I would recommend the steak to anyone! For a Friday night it was very quiet, I imagine no need to book ahead, but it would be a different story on the weekends.

Helpful?
Thank Sarahstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great degustation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had lunch at the cellar and very much enjoyed the food and wine on offer with the degustation menu. The setting is quite cool which was welcome in the heat of Feb and the service was attentive and friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing