We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proposal at the cellar restaurant”

The Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Proposal at the cellar restaurant”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On saturday night i proposed to my fience at the cellar restaurant. everthing was perfect.i would particually like to thank louise the restaurant supervisor all of her help. she was amazing and i couldnt have pulled it off without her. my partner was unfortunately not feeling well so louise adjusted the menu to accomodate.from the bottom of our hearts a huge thankyou louise and all involved at the cellar! We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattgevk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    124
    47
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend in Vine Yards”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A few friends had a weekend in The Vine Yards. On Friday night were went to The Cellar Restaurant for Dinner. A most enjoyable experience. Food was tasty, sevice was excellant, atmosphere was wonderful.
A most enjoyable night. I would reccomend anyone to try Thr Cellar restaurant out when visiting the vine country.
Simply 10

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simply10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Warm & Cosy”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our first day in the Hunter Valley - what a way to start our long weekend

Beautiful food, a lovely warm open fire and great service from very friendly staff. Our little group were very impressed with the atmosphere and the whole experience.

Will be back on our next visit - a 1st class restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 727SueY727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service, fantastic ambience.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked this restaurant over the phone about four weeks ago. When we arrived on Sautrday evening, they had no account of our booking. But they handled it so well. Were very apologetic, and got us a table within five minutes. We had a lovely table by the fire. Because of the setting of the room, with the centre point being the open fire, there are no bad tables in this restaurant. We were facing the kitchen, but didn't feel we were being pushed in the back because they forgot our booking.

The waitress was quite young, i would imagine not hugely experienced. But clearly well trained, and clear they have good systems. We asked to delay our meal, didn't want to be rushed. in particular we asked for a long pause between entree and main. this (or anything else) wasn't a problem. The food was great. Stand out was the main - Sirloin with yorkshire pud, roasted artichokes and horsereadish cream. Great wine list too, including a huge selection by the glass. We had a bottle of exellent, reasonably priced Pinot Gris, and then moved onto different reds by the glass. All in all a really nice experience - will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Dermot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lunch with 5 and had a pleasant experience.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked the restaurant through the entertainment card to take out 3 old relos. The restaurant was empty at 12.30 and we were given the choice to sit outside or inside. We chose next to the fireplace inside which was very comfortable. Service was fantastic with a two of girls serving our table being extremely tolerant of our elderly quests. The menu was varied and interesting. 2 ordered the scallops, 1 ordered the Cesar salad, my wife ordered the duck and I ordered the mix plate with pate and cold meats. The meals weren't first class but everyone liked them. It was the service that made our lunchtime enjoyable. The restaurant is central situated in the village which offers plenty of parking so if you were keen on a nice lunch then out to visit the surrounding shops then the Cellar is a good choice. If you are looking for a special foodie experience then look to Trip Adviser to guide you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing