We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panacotta perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Enzo

Cafe Enzo
Ranked #8 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Enzo warmly welcomes you to our charming sandstone restaurant. . . As the story goes, 'enzo' have been established since 1996, yes one of the original cafes in wine country pokolbin! When there were dirt roads 'n stuff! We are historically known for our alfresco dining and 7 days trade throughout our years! Over the years this once upon a time homestead, home to the Irelands, has expanded and evolved and become home to enzo. Original fittings of the kitchen areas and fireplace still remain untouched. Hand cut sandstone, laid by hand, and the hardwood beams from the wharf of sydney harbour, create the lived-in feel that people return for. We welcome you to our home of dining, celebrating and good times, and ask you to continue to share with us. Enjoy!
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Panacotta perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is to die for!! Beautiful setting for lunch but make sure you leave room for dessert!! Unique decor

David Hooks wines next door have beautiful wines & great tasting service.

Helpful?
Thank TheJ0hns0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    343
    77
    50
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Book ahead on a long weekend. Loved the atmosphere great location at Peppers Creek. Breakfast with friends had a relaxed feel and the food was amazing. Service prompt and friendly and I loved the tea served on a children's book very quirky. Breakfast boards contained delicious treats.Loved everything. A must do in the valley

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great breakfast although get here early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stopped in for breakfast on the long weekend. Coffee was superb and the food was excellent. Also i sat outside in the sun which really was lovely. Price was quite cheap for one about $30. I arrived aroubd 10 am without a booking and it was starting to get very busy. i'd reccomend getting in early if you didnt have a booking. best breakfast experience we had in the hunter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blairegourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“serves campos coffee”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

For all my travels, this one was rude from the get go.
A group of friends decided on coffees to takeaway instead of sticking around for a meal knowing full well we are a big group and wouldn't get table service. Being just 2 of us to start with, we were told it was a 10min wait, Not an issue... Only to then be rudely ushered out after finding out there was 10 of us (we came trickling in from checking out of our accomodation).
Even when we were all willing to wait 45 mins to be served seeing as sit in guests have first priority and that they will have to wait too long.
Only to then be told, they won't have enough coffee for everyone else... At 11am...
Being a barista myself, I can't see how it would take that long to make coffees to start with, especially when they are serving Campos as a brand or a business that would turn away customers that were willing to wait.

Definitely could've handled the situation better, Seeing as the day before there was no issue getting 15 people takeaway coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maishirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Favourite Cafe in The Hunter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

What's not to love about this place? Amazing gardens, cool tables, excellent coffee (Campos for the coffee snobs) and yummy food. When I'm visiting the Hunter I always make a visit here. This time had the Spinach salad and it was oh-so-yummy. I must say that they know how to add a little extra. I loved the tiny teddy with my coffee. A small thing but we know the details matter.

The only thing I would improve are the toilets. It really has an outhouse feel but you can't complain overall.

Can't wait to visit next year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heathluvsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Enzo also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Cafe Enzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing