We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch at Enzo"s”
Review of Cafe Enzo

Cafe Enzo
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Enzo warmly welcomes you to our charming sandstone restaurant. . . As the story goes, 'enzo' have been established since 1996, yes one of the original cafes in wine country pokolbin! When there were dirt roads 'n stuff! We are historically known for our alfresco dining and 7 days trade throughout our years! Over the years this once upon a time homestead, home to the Irelands, has expanded and evolved and become home to enzo. Original fittings of the kitchen areas and fireplace still remain untouched. Hand cut sandstone, laid by hand, and the hardwood beams from the wharf of sydney harbour, create the lived-in feel that people return for. We welcome you to our home of dining, celebrating and good times, and ask you to continue to share with us. Enjoy!
WPG
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch at Enzo"s”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a delicious lunch at Enzo's. It was very pleasant sitting beside the garden. The simple but authentic plate of antipasti was a big hit with my Italian husband.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WpgPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    357
    80
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot, good coffee”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lovely stop for lunch, pity it was raining! Would have been a beautiful view. The coffee was campos coffee (yum!) and the food was fresh and delicious (the meals are huge though!).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Picture perfect courtyard & great brekky”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We've always driven by Enzo and never stopped in until this weekend. Don't know what too us so long because breakfast was wonderful. We had brekky there on both mornings and were very pleased to say the least.

We ordered the breakfast board as you see in the pics I uploaded, as well as a fruit bowl with vanilla yogurt, mixed berries with crumble & yogurt and a Carrot, orange and ginger juice. The coffee(Campos) was good but not consistant.

Check it out when you're in the Hunter Valley.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chilichocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast satisfaction”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great coffee and three egg big brekkie. Open courtyard and antique shop. Service was prompt and courteous though I'm not sure about the weekend when no doubt it will be busier

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidHenry1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“big serves, poor service, don't shoot the wait staff”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Enzo seems to almost get it right and then it falls over. We have been waiting for 8 years for them to succeed. Last time we took friends there and the staff did their best, but the inflexible rules let them down. No moving umbrellas, no matter who is trapped in full sun. No cooking meat rare - only one way, or the highway. Huge serves matched by huge prices. The kicker was when we asked for extra ciabatta slices. We had to pay extra by the slice! The poor wait staff had to count heads and then divide by slices (some "free" slices came with some meals). Sydney prices and south of the border service - no offence to Mexico - just seems to be impossible for them to find a balance between excellent location, lots of food and just generally decent service at reasonable prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Professor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Enzo also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Cafe Enzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing