We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good coffee but that's about it”
Review of Cafe Enzo

Cafe Enzo
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Enzo warmly welcomes you to our charming sandstone restaurant. . . As the story goes, 'enzo' have been established since 1996, yes one of the original cafes in wine country pokolbin! When there were dirt roads 'n stuff! We are historically known for our alfresco dining and 7 days trade throughout our years! Over the years this once upon a time homestead, home to the Irelands, has expanded and evolved and become home to enzo. Original fittings of the kitchen areas and fireplace still remain untouched. Hand cut sandstone, laid by hand, and the hardwood beams from the wharf of sydney harbour, create the lived-in feel that people return for. We welcome you to our home of dining, celebrating and good times, and ask you to continue to share with us. Enjoy!
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good coffee but that's about it”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Cafe Enzo is in a charming setting next to David Hook wines and serves Campos coffee expertly made, but this place is severely let down by poor staff and an expensive menu.

On our recent visit, when the staff weren't ignoring us they were outright rude. Every request was met with a sigh and at least 3 of the young girls asked "Are you right?" like we were in their way.

Coupled with a menu offering $30 lunch mains and a pretty limited wine list, this is a good place to grab a takeaway coffee and head elsewhere for breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Case12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    357
    80
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must-go!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is one establishment I find myself going to every time I drive down to Hunter V (Total Count in 2012: 3). Located in a tuscan inspired village (complete with sandstone buildings and all), this nice cafe restaurant is located in the heart of hunter valley wine region.

PRAWN LINGUINE - The reason I find myself gravitating towards this restaurant every time I visit hunter valley. YES....it is THAT GOOD. The entire combination of succulent prawns, savory chunks of chorizo, roasted cherry tomatoes, fresh ooh-la-la herbs, EVOO, crunchy baby spinach and generous portion of parmesan slices comes together so well it creates "culinary fireworks" (for lack of a better term) in one's mouth.

For detailed review and photos, kindly visit my blog: http://twiceasdelicious.com/enzo/ ‎

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnggoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lovely surroundings, good atmosphere. Breakfast was great. Would be very cosy in winter with lovely open fire available.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank freddo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Happy balance”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place has a nice down to earth, cutesy feel with its outdoor seating, but then strong and bold tastes. They offer juices in jars and a short menu of a great food (in fairly big portions). Highly recommended for rejuvenating the body and soul because with an atmosphere like it, you can't help but be happy. The ciabatta was good, the juices will depend heavily on which one you get and your own tastes, and the meal was pretty decent - though a bit too big. Their coffee comes with a cute little teddy gram, but it's pretty bitter/strong - going with the whole cute but strong feel. Needless to say, if you like subtle tastes, this place might not be for you. Otherwise, have a go, though have a reservation. They definitely treated people with reservations better.

The only downside was that not all of the seats had good protection from the sun and after a while, a couple of us burned a bit. So, don't forget your sun block if you plan on sitting outside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aryun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top Class Breakfast”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This cafe was recommended to me by Keith Tulloch as having the best breakfast in the district and he was right. I had the Eggs Benedict and it was terrific - especially the sourdough toast. And how often do you find something new on a breakfast menu that you've never seen before? Well they had one which consisted of (from memory) fetta, advocado and things - my wife had it and she said it was terrific too. The location is very pleasant in a rustic but modern garden setting (not far from Hunter Valley Gardens), the staff are helpful and cheery and the coffee is great. I'll definitely be going there again on my next trip to the Hunter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davo_Fido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Enzo also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Cafe Enzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing