We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be charged by the hour!”
Review of Estate Tuscany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estate Tuscany
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I travelled from Sydney hoping to enjoy a relaxing weekend away for my birthday. It was obvious from the second we arrived this was in fact far from reality. We were ignored by reception for a good 5 minutes before she even looked up at us, our room was made up of dirty carpet, dirty walls, a dirty bathroom and stained bed linen. When we called reception and notified them of this we were advised that there were no other rooms available to us. We only managed to stay for one of our intended 3 nights (we decided to stay elsewhere in Pokolbin for our remaining time), and upon early departure we found the manager (if thats what you want to call her) Kirsty to be impolite, sarcastic, unapologetic and plain rude! Horrible place and horrible staff. We are just ad we were able to salvage our weekend away once we found alternative accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 703 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pros: lovely location with great views; kangaroo watching from room; spacious room; clean; big comfy bed; receptionist very nice.
Cons: not a hotel, essentially a slightly upmarket motel; not great soundproofing (can hear conversations and bathroom noise very loud); wifi charged at 15 bucks a day; average breakfast (luke warm cooked breakfast and coffee); veggie breakfast served with sausages and associated fat (not clever); manageress(?) talking to receptionist about us in the third person while we are stood there (not polite) whilst wearing a tracksuit and munching on a banana (unprofessional to say the least).
In summary, this place could be amazing but a few points let it down. If we were paying the full advertised price rather than groupon price I would be fuming. We didn't eat in either of the on-site restaurants after reading their trip advisor reviews and, judging by the distinctly average breakfasts and general service, we made the right choice. Please also note that this is not a wine producing wine estate which to me is a little misleading. If you want to stay on a real wine estate then book somewhere else. Spelling and grammatical errors on the website just about sum this place up....a bit sloppy.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fashy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We found the staff most obliging, accommodation was very comfortable and we thought the overall stay was excellent value. With the top quality dining available there is no need to go anywhere else. Just catch a bus and enjoy the wine tasting and leave the rest to Tuscany Wine Estate Resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I am a local and never seem to get a chance to sample what's right on my door step. After recently attending a wedding at Tuscany I was highly impressed. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble, food was faboulous and the decorations were amazing. It was even great for the kids with kangaroos out the back door on the first two mornings of our stay. Our friends were all raving about what a great night it was. Would definately come again...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was a bit worried about staying at the resort as I had read some unfavourable reviews, but I have to say that my friends and I were very, very happy with our rooms. We were only there for one night - arrived fairly late and left early so we didn't get to utilise any of the resorts amenities but would definitely stay there again, and would definitely recommend it! The rooms were clean, tidy, well equipped and comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Olive Grove" rooms A solitary kangaroo was outside our window in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 4 days for our sons wedding I dealt with many of the resort stag whilst helping our son and his fiancée ( her family live in the UK )with their wedding arrangements
We have nothing but praise for the staff the wedding was fantastic even although it rained and the ceremony was moved indoors everything went like clockwork the reception room looked fantastic food was excellent we have no complaints we booked out most of the resort all the guests i spoke with were very happy with their accommodation and service
All in all we would have no hesitation recommending this venue With regards the staff we found them all to be most helpful and accommodating
We found organising our wedding a very pleasant experience with very few hiccups thank you Tuscany for a beautiful wedding a job well done


  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nantoafew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice property, Rooms clean and relaxing , very quiet, great view, saw an air balloon take off across the road,
Staff were great helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was great in the Mill, the outlook is lovely and food was great.
No complaints.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms overlooking the vineyards, these rooms were close to the restaurants, Bit s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Tuscany

Address: Cr Hermitage rd & Mistletoe ln, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $94 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estate Tuscany 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estate Tuscany Decades of Hospitality & Award-Winning Service. Only two hours from Sydney, located at the foothills of the Brokenback ranges in Pokolbin, Hunter Valley (NSW). Guests can experience a relaxing stay in Tuscan-style accommodation, with uninterrupted mountain views in the heart of Australia's premium wine country. The grounds present a stylish blend of modern and rustic decor, set amongst 26 acres of beautiful countryside. There are two stunning eateries onsite. The Mill Restaurant offers guests a fine dining experience, while The Brokenback Bar presents a cafe-style bar where guests can sample wine and beer from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estate Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany Wine Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Tuscany Wine Estate Pokolbin
Estate Tuscany Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing