We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Food !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estate Tuscany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Estate Tuscany
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding Food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Group of 10 spent 4 days at Tuscany Resort-loved it. Celebrated a birthday in Mill Restaurant -Chef John Salisbury menu of chicken-pork-seafood was exceptional 5* presentation & taste(& he is so young!)plus a neat birthday cake. Restaurant Manager Samantha runs a tight friendly efficient ship - courteous speedy service in a busy restaurant-great breaky-fresh poached eggs a delight.

Room Tip: Quiet location hotel with plenty of activies to visit/experience. In hot weather need more carport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    235
    93
    40
    33
See reviews for
95
392
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed on a 2 night scoopon package , we stayed in an Olive Grove Room which was comfortable and nicely furnished it had everything we needed and prob more
We dined in the Mill Restaurant both nights and found the food to be very nice if a little overpriced! But what we had was well presented and thoroughly enjoyed
The staff were friendly and we found the place to be situated well for our starting point for a full day winery tour which is to be highly reckon ended , we would be back for sure

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dishloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went to the Tuscan Wine Estate for a seminar with a group from Sydney, so I also know what was the general consensus of our group. Rooms were just a tad above the standard motel room and very patchy in facilities.One of our party had no bedside lamps but I did.There was no covered, lined waste bin in the mediocre bathroom.The shower was over the bath with minimal handrails and there were cheap toiletries. One morning my bed was not made.The whole operation was more suited to a much lower star rating.There was no quality control.
The food was absolutely dreadful. We were there for two/three days and I cannot express how inappropriate was the menu.The food was badly cooked and badly served. After our complaints, we were given a voucher by email for a dinner in the restaurant. We have friends that have returned since then, and the food is still awful.
The reason that I write at this late stage is that I notice on several booking sites that the rating is still quite high. Nature made the views, kangaroos graze and drink from the dams, the motel did not organise this. This could be a good country motel if the price was not so excessive and the food not so pretentious. There are so many excellent restaurants in the Hunter. This motel should concentrate on simple local food, well cooked and served hot! The management and owners need some education on what is a 4 star establishment and therefore worthy of such prices. For the traveller coming from overseas, this could be yet another negative, expensive Australian experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agtowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely quiet hotel in the vineyards!! My mother and I stayed here for our hot air balloon ride the next morning. The staff are just lovely and make you feel at home. The rooms are well appointed with a very comfortable bed. All rooms have a small terrace where you can relax with a bottle of wine.

We saw around 50 kangaroos in the field next door at sunset and then another 3 right in front of our room the next morning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our stay was faultless ... From where ever you stand on the property there are breathtaking views to admire .The rooms are tastefully decorated,furnished and offer views that invite you sit back,crack a bottle of local wine and indulge the Hunter Valley at its best, The staff are fabulous,friendly and ever so accommodating and helpful, good old fashioned service as such extends the welcomness and creates a sense of importance of the guest.
Breakfast was a fabulous selection of cereals, fruits, pastries, and cooked options, with sweeping views of the vineyards it was the perfect way to start the day .
This is definitely one place not to be overlooked, and truly is a wonderful gateway to stay and play in the Hunter Valley...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmarlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pretty disappointing looking rooms in my opinion. Accomodation Hardly 4 star in my Books. Who hands out the stars...? Stayed in the Vineyard View rooms - which are basically a motel, park your car out the front of your small room, just like a motel. It was clean, but very basic, complete with bouncy bed, and the best thing about them was pretty much the view of the vineyards. $180 a night for basically a MOTEL room? I think not. The only thing Tuscan about it is the reception area I think. The bathrooms were sparse, the shower over the bath type of deal. Had spa jets for the bath, didnt work. This was the more expensive rooms? Looked nothing like the pictures, and I hate it when a place does that. False advertising. The photos I saw, looked far more tuscan than my motel room, I must say.$15 for wifi - and have to go back to reception to get a printout of the login/password? What year are we in? Should be free...
After a heavy lunch elsewhere, we opted for tapas at the bar - the meatballs were cold, when they finally arrived, and the chilli chicken oysters were so salty they were only just edible. We opted to leave the cheese platter until after we ate, to see if we had room, as we were told it was also quick - it took twice as long as the Tapas - they did apologise, saying the kitchen was a madhouse busy - we looked over, it was 1/3 full. Who knows what it would be like if they had a full dinner service - they also couldnt manage a mixed cheese plate, you had to buy 1 cheese at a time, and all of them for a mixed cheese platter - so it would have been $24 and too much cheese probably. Didnt makemuch sense.
Basically, with so much competition around, for accomodation, and food, wont be going back.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, the other rooms looked better, and you can see the same view from the bar or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzysingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointing.On checking in it was obvious the pleasant receptionist did not have a reservation for us, but after a bit of fumbling with her keyboard a room was found,strange as we had a hard copy of the reservation with us. The room was pleasant with a lovely outlook over a few immature olive trees and to a pond where to our delight the kangaroos came to drink.The bathroom was distinctly "tired"with warm water coming from the cold tap in the washbasin.We informed reception and were told there was a problem with the hot water pipe being located too close to the cold water pipe and were advised to just use the water bottles in the mini bar. I thought it was only Third World countries that required bottled water for tooth cleaning!
There were many reasons we chose this "Resort" location for our onward journey the following day,not many places in The hunter Valley permit a one night stay , also there was dining on site at the Mill Restaurant,for which I will write a separate review, but could try a lot harder.

To add insult to injury, on checking our other email address a week later we found that Tuscany Wine Resort had emailed after we had left uk to tell us our booking was cancelled and we were to be relocated to another accomodation!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ramblingrosie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Tuscany

Property: Estate Tuscany
Address: Cr Hermitage rd & Mistletoe ln, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estate Tuscany 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estate Tuscany Decades of Hospitality & Award-Winning Service. Only two hours from Sydney, located at the foothills of the Brokenback ranges in Pokolbin, Hunter Valley (NSW). Guests can experience a relaxing stay in Tuscan-style accommodation, with uninterrupted mountain views in the heart of Australia's premium wine country. The grounds present a stylish blend of modern and rustic decor, set amongst 26 acres of beautiful countryside. There are two stunning eateries onsite. The Mill Restaurant offers guests a fine dining experience, while The Brokenback Bar presents a cafe-style bar where guests can sample wine and beer from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Estate Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany Wine Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Tuscany Wine Estate Pokolbin
Estate Tuscany Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing