We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the money”
Review of Estate Tuscany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estate Tuscany
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
NSW
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the money”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here cheaper through the internet.The room was quite nice for the price and a little outdated.The restaurant attached had a nice menu so we choose it for the convenience.It took a long time as they were full and the waitresses left us waiting and seemed to stand around waiting at the pass for peoples meals.If I had the opportunity I would stay somewhere else next time.Plus they take $100 as a hold on your card for any extras and this took around 10 to be reimbursed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wofftam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    251
    104
    43
    35
See reviews for
99
418
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cessnock, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had our wedding reception at Tuscany Estate in The Mill restaurant mid September, and it was the most amazing night and the best wedding I’ve been to (not being biased AT ALL!). The staff decorated the restaurant with the decorations I provided exceptionally, it looks absolutely stunning! The food was utterly amazing, we had comments all night about how delicious everything was! The service from the staff was also exceptional. I have been to a lot of weddings, worked a lot, and been in a few myself, and I have never had the quality of service as we did on our wedding night, and not just because we were bride and groom, our guest were commenting to us all night, and still when we see them, on how prompt and professional the staff were, they were just unreal. We had our dancefloor our on the verandah and it was such a great space, it kind of felt like two worlds, in side it was more private for people who didn't want to dance and preferred to talk, and then outside the rowdy dancing took over, and it didn't feel like everyone was staring at you... not sure if that make sense but it does to me, and we loved the dancing out there...Our coordinator Katie, made everything feel so easy, and was there to help us for everything and anything…Katie didn’t seem to mind the thousand pointless emails I sent her either! She was unreal! I can honestly say our reception was stressfree!!!

We also stayed in an Olive Grove room on our wedding night, and it was beautiful. We woke up to a fabulous view of the dam and lavender garden!

We arrived early as a surprise to our guest, while they were having their pre dinner drinks and cheese platters, they area for this was fantastic, it was out of the cold wind which was great. I only wished i could have been there prior to the pre dinner drinks, our guests who had some drinks in the Brokenback Bar said the sunset & atmosphere was amazing.

A massive massive MASSIVE thanks to Katie and all of the staff who made our night, the best night of our lives! x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jendea-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just wanted to say a huge thanks to the staff at Tuscany. We chose Tuscany for our wedding venue for a few reasons, first the location/scenery, second to none! Secondly from the very first meeting we had with the staff at Tuscany, right until the very end, the service and support has been outstanding. We were appointed a function co-ordinator, Katie. I was so blessed to have someone that responded so quickly to my ideas but also a supportive and guiding light.
On the night Katie along with Sam and Phil made sure our night went by without a hitch, for this I am truly grateful. The accommodation was great, and very convenient for guests to relax and enjoy our Wedding weekend. We received some great feedback from the guests that stayed also.

Room Tip: If you are the bride, the rooms closer to the venue are good to get ready in, as you only have to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We are a couple with a toddler who travelled 2 days to get to the Hunter. We'd had a horrific drive (traffic jam on the hwy) and were actually booked into the resort opposite (Hunter Valley Resort) but were so appaulled by its run down state, we instead turned up at 5pm here, deparately hoping they could help us out. Kelly at reception couldn't have been more helpful. We took their last available room (unlike the other place which was like a deserted dump) and were pleasantly suprised by the room and the surrounds (gardens and views were lovely) and all for the same price as the dump next door. Kelly even shouted us a lovely bottle of bubbly and a cot and extra linen was delivered promptly for our toddler. We then had our dinner and following days breakfasts on site and both the Tapas Bar and Mill restaurant were wonderful for both food and service, including the highchair for our son, nothing was too much trouble. I am a foodie with a restaurant background myself and could not fault this place. The view and sunset over the ranges and valley was so much like Tuscany (we went there a few years ago) it was uncanny, (except for the kangaroos!). We loved it here and would recommend it highly. I have read the other reveiws and cannot fathom the negative one which was opposite in every way to our experience. The only thing I suggest is ask for a room away from their septic tanks as there was a problem with the smell. The rooms at the far end, furthest from the restaurant were probably best. Gardens were lovely with fruit trees, herbs and lavender right outside the door. It is obviously a popular place, other people staying all seemed happy and it had a good up-beat vibe. Also well positioned for wine tasting, many great wineries within very a short drive. Tamburlaine organic winery was my pick. Hunter gardens have a great kids playground (hidden behind the shops). Hope this helps if you have kids. Our trip ended well thanks to our lovely stay here.

Room Tip: Away from septic, on high side, left side of reception. The longer stroll to breakfast is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utopiablokeQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I just wanted to say a huge thanks to Phil in the restaurant & bar section of the winery.
We were there for a wedding the other weekend & he did a great job making sure we were looked after all night.
We will definatley be back because of the wonderful service we recieved from Phil.
The view and winery are very nice as well - great setting for a wedding and a very fun night.
Thanks again for everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had my sister's wedding at Tuscany on the weekend! Tuscany was amazing.. Katie, and all of the staff did such a great job with setting up the event, right through to the reception on the night, nothing was too hard for them.. All the guests had such a great time, what a great venue!.. I will be recommending Tuscany for any other events. I also wanted to say a huge thanks especially to Phil, and his bar staff who really looked after us.. our friends are still talking about how friendly and personable Phil was and he is a credit to Tuscany.

Thanks again, Lara

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara05_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked via LastMinuteDeals.com.au in June to stay at the resort for one night for a wedding of a friend that was being held at the resort. I can't really rate what the accomodation was like as upon arrival we were told there was maintenance being carried out on our room and that we had to stay across the road at the Hunter Valley Resort, which was fairly ordinary itself. This was not the worst of it as friends of ours were staying in the room next to the room we were supposed to stay in and there was no maintenance being done and the room was occupied by someone else who had a Porsche parked out the front of the room. They must have been able to get more for that night than we had paid. Very ordinary, won't be recommmending this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanyWineEstate, General Manager at Estate Tuscany, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments, yes we did have maintenance issues and we were able to rectify these after check in. No matter what type of vehicle our guests drive no one is treated differently and we do not have different rates based on guest car types. We apologise for the inconvenience our maintenance issue caused and please contact me in order we can rectify this.

Thank you & regards Kirsty Woods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
6.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Tuscany

Property: Estate Tuscany
Address: Cr Hermitage rd & Mistletoe ln, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estate Tuscany 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estate Tuscany Decades of Hospitality & Award-Winning Service. Only two hours from Sydney, located at the foothills of the Brokenback ranges in Pokolbin, Hunter Valley (NSW). Guests can experience a relaxing stay in Tuscan-style accommodation, with uninterrupted mountain views in the heart of Australia's premium wine country. The grounds present a stylish blend of modern and rustic decor, set amongst 26 acres of beautiful countryside. There are two stunning eateries onsite. The Mill Restaurant offers guests a fine dining experience, while The Brokenback Bar presents a cafe-style bar where guests can sample wine and beer from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Estate Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany Wine Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Tuscany Wine Estate Pokolbin
Estate Tuscany Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing