We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique little gem”
Review of Tonic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tonic Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique little gem”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Great place - quiet, and unique. Views from terrace over a lake towards the hunter countryside. Nicci the owner is very helpful - will organise restaurants, taxis and tours, and you can buy anything you like from the room!
Great idea to have gourmet curries available to cook when you dont fell like going out after a long wine tour.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    17
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
6
106
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Spent 2 nights here while taking a quick look at Hunter Valley. Well located amongst boutique wineries. Interesting and novel set up with minimalist approach which works well. Nici could not have been more helpful. Love the roos bounding past the window.

If you want a personal wine tour Nici introduced us to Heidi who gave us a great day at local wineries. Make sure you have the Tyrells Semillon 1999! Outstanding.

Loved this so much we recommended to some Sydney based friends who are booked to go shortly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zouppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We have just spent four nights at Tonic Hotel and thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing luxurious break. The room and bathroom are full of quirky objects and are designed to maximise relaxation. The deck overlooking the pond is fabulous and we were enthralled by the family of swans that call it home. The breakfasts supplied to your room daily were delicious. Love the whole experience and have got Tonic on our must visit again list !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsbar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The Tonic has to be one of the most relaxing places that I have ever stayed at.
The checkin “process” is really simple. A few days before arrival, I received an e-mail with our room number and the code for the room keypad lock. Then it is just a case of driving up to the front door of the room, typing in the code and you’re there! If only some big hotels where I queue for 10-minutes or more to register could do this!!
The first thing that struck me about the room was not the room itself but the wonderful view across the Hunter Valley. Many an hour was spent on the balcony admiring this and the sunsets and watching nature pass by. In fact one morning we even had a couple of kangaroos within metres of the balcony whilst having breakfast.
The room is spacious with a lovely big comfy bed. There is a desk and chairs and an arm chair. A minor criticism is that there is limited hanging/drawer space and bedside tables rather than the shelves behind the bed would be good. But all in all there is plenty of room to while away the daytime hours and to sleep. There is a large bathroom with walk-in shower and separate tub.
The kitchen area has a well-stocked fridge with different breakfast items provided each day together with juice, muesli, bread and jams for you to make your own breakfast as and when you want and as lazily as you want to start the morning. The fresh coffee and leaf teas are also great. If you want something in the evening there are plenty of good restaurants within 15-minutes’ drive – I would particularly recommend Muse for a great formal meal with unexpected twists (the ice cream and banana bread dessert with the liquid nitrogen was something else) and Majors Lane for excellent steaks and great informal service. But if you have had a big lunch and want to stay in, the Guest Lounge has a well-stocked larder from which you can buy excellent curries to cook in the in-room microwave and there are other snacks and I would particularly recommend pate.
For entertainment there is a TV and DVD player in the room and good fast wired-free internet. Complimentary Wi-Fi is provided in the guest lounge. But who wants entertainment with the views and relaxing pace of the Hunter Valley to enjoy?
There swimming pool is also good and is quite long making a few laps feel like some exercise!
If you don’t want to drink and drive, Hunter Valley Boutique Wine Tours provide an excellent days wine tour and pick you up from your room door.
Finally, check-out is just as simple. You leave a note of any chargeable items (wine, curries, pate, cheese, etc) that you have taken and an invoice arrives by e-mail a few days later – just drive away!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We enjoyed our two night stay at Tonic.

But that said - we left thinking the overall value for the hotel wasn't great.

The room and common areas are well designed and very stylish. Bed was comfortable and we enjoyed eating breakfast on our room's outdoor deck.

But Tonic is not for everyone. It's very DIY. No room keys - you are sent a password via email. No front desk or check-in or check-out. Breakfast is stocked in your fridge the day before and you heat it up in the microwave in the morning. All of this was quite fine by us - the feeling of seclusion and no disruptions were welcomed.

However it feels like you're paying more for this sense of detachment. There are certainly cheaper options in the valley - and while perhaps these are not done as tastefully - they will likely have more heart than Tonic has.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSPerspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

A perfect setting for a quiet getaway. Rooms are very stylishly decorated and the mini kitchen has all you need if you want to prepare your own food. If you elect to have breakfast provided, it's a real treat. Heaps of food and interesting stuff that you wouldn't get at a standard hotel - recommended.
Sitting on the balcony watching the swans in the dam and the kangaroos in the paddocks while you eat your breakfast was a highlight.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Tonic consists of very stylish rooms spread around the property all overlooking rolling countryside. The rooms are very comfortable and contain all you would want.
The vineyards of the Hunter Valley are worth visiting and Tonic is an excellent base.
You are left on your own at Tonic so it is not a place for those who want to be waited on hand and foot. But the owner is there for any help or questions you have.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
293 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel

Property: Tonic Hotel
Address: 251 Talga Rd | Lovedale, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tonic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
tonic is - a place of uninterrupted relaxation and style, a place where you want to be a guest. A stunning spot - the Lovedale area of the Hunter Valley just 2 hours from Sydney. Simple modern surroundings - Australian design, steel and glass against native grasses. Non invasive service - discrete and informal, no formal check in and check out. Every luxury - crisp white linen, the best towels, groovy furniture and the latest in gadgets. tonic is opulent minimalism. we invite you to come and share ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Tonic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Pokolbin
Tonic Hotel Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing