We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tonic Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$120
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$111
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$87
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$132
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$102
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
$246
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
123
18
6
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
18
6
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadlarge pondmuesliluxurious bedan abundance of wildlifehunter valleytext messagetv receptionlast minute bookingloved our staylovely weekendlounge roomtwo couplesself containediandamfridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 154 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

WoW!! Just fantastic. The rooms were gorgeous, clean and practical. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The view across the dam,vines and mountains lovely. The breakfast left in the fridge was perfect (Janelles museli is to die for!). Ian and Janelle are great hosts, welcoming but not intrusive. The lounge has a communal area where you use an honesty system for frozen curries, wine beer or nibbles! There is a beautiful open fire, stereo and TV/DVD. We went as a couple but would also be a perfect place for a few couples as you can have privacy and communal areas. The lounge also has fabulous kitchen facilities. I could not speak more highly of Tonic. It was just the Tonic we needed!!!
BTW St clements winery just up the road did the most AMAZING italian. We are world travelers and both my partner and I thought the rissotto was the best we had ever had. Beautiful light and using seasonal produce. Their wine was great too as was the service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were very impressed with Tonic. Upon entering our room (more like a cabin), we were met with a personalised welcome message, a clean, modern, fresh and funky room and a generous cheeseplatter! Ian was so attentive and helpful and the complementary brekkie was a treat!

Tonic is private and perfect for couples or groups of friends. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a stylish, fun and modern stay in the Hunter. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen_and_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Tonic is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful location. The facilities are superb and the view sensational. The best thing however, was the hospitality of host Ian. He could not have made us more welcome, from meeting our bus with a glass of wine when we returned from a concert to taking us out to dinner, Ian was warm, friendly and attentive and made us feel as if we were visiting favourite family members.

Room Tip: can't go wrong but the northern ones are further from the power lines
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Tonic for a lovely weekend away from town. It's the perfect place to relax and enjoy a peaceful, luxurious getaway. The rooms were very cosy and each had spectacular views of the property - watching the sunset from our balcony could of only been enhanced by a comfy day bed (We would of never left). Ian the manager was very helpful and full of excellent recommendations - for instance Lillino's Winery just 2km up the road we enjoyed a great red from their cellar door on Friday night, the food also looked great. Breakfast was delicious (especially the fresh berry yoghurt cup) and had a great variety given it was not a cooked breakfast (however the option to buy bacon and eggs is available). We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you want a departure from the traditional Hunter accommodation (floral curtains anyone?!) then Tonic Hotel is for you. Think effortless chic with polished concrete flooring, clean, minimalist decor and a beautiful big, modern bathroom (complete with a bath in which you can recline). Add in a heavenly King sized bed (with quality bed linen), big white, fluffy towels and robes, a daily newspaper delivery and a fridge (stocked daily) with breakfast provisions and you have the perfect combination. The view (visible even from bed) is pretty fantastic too. But what makes Tonic Hotel so special is host Ian who is, quite simply, a delight. The genius unobtrusive check in/check out process is perfect but we were also lucky enough to discover that Ian is hospitable, generous and very good company. When we arrived (to celebrate our wedding anniversary), we discovered Ian had left a lovely, thoughtful greeting message and a (very generous!) bottle of complimentary champagne. We later bumped into him at a local restaurant and he very graciously invited us to join him for a post-dinner drink which, a few drinks and a few stories later, turned out to be a very fun night.
Tonic Hotel is in an excellent location- close to the action but secluded enough that you don't feel like you are on the Hunter tour bus trail. There is not a single thing that could have made our weekend at Tonic Hotel more enjoyable. Thank you Ian! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarloEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews