We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot On!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

An all round superb place to stay. We only had one night in Hunter Valley, but we could have stayed for a week. This guest house is just perfect. Wonderfully clean rooms, all the amenities you need, including a good coffee maker, a/c, fan, wonderful bathroom, all very modern looking. Beds were really comfy, but best of all was the welcome and friendliness we received from the owner, Bobby. She was knowledgeable about the region and the wines, suggested and booked the best restaurants for us, and made our stay so fabulous we simply didn't want to leave. Breakfast sat outside of our room overlooking the grounds was simply wonderful too. We would have wanted to do this everyday if we could. I will NEVER stay anywhere else in the Hunter Valley other than here. A little bit of me doesn't want to be so nice, to ensure when I come down next, there will still be a vacancy for me, but with reviews like these on here I wouldn't be surprised if it's booked out!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrudieUdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

Stayed at Splinters in November 2008 with my boyfriend, my brother and sister-in-law. We loved it. The rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious. The welcome platter of cheese and wine was a really lovely touch, which we enjoyed sitting out on the terrace enjoying the peace. Bobby is an truly marvelous hostess, she arranged a wine tour for us and made a fantastic restaurant suggestion - Amanda's on the Edge, where I ate one of the best dinners I've had! On our second night at Splinters, we stopped at a deli on the way back from our wine tour and picked up a selection of anti-pasti and other nibbles, when we got back, Bobby kindly provided us with extra plates and cutlery so we could enjoy it al fresco. Splinters is a real gem and an excellent base to explore the Hunter Valley from. I'd definitely go back!

  • Liked — The welcom and service from Bobby
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

Myself my husband ,sister and brother -in-law visited Splinters just after new year on our way to Sydney, We had the most relaxing stay all thanks to Bobbi who went out of her way to make us very welcome,we all wished we had booked for longer.
we would recommend Splinters unreservedly and hope to go back one day. Thankyou Bobbi!

  • Liked — perfect location for relaxing
  • Disliked — the fact we had to leave it !
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honoreve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacktown, NSW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

We viewed the early reviews on TripAdvisor and rang Bobby. My sister and her husband from Kent in the UK also came with us. The cottage is really nice and comfortable, log fire helped to warm the place up. The 2nd bedroom is a mezzanine floor but very comfortable. All cooking equipment,crockery and cutlery were in really good condition. Excellent coffee making machine. All very clean as well. Lovely to watch the kangaroos and wallabies outside first thing in the morning. Quiet location but handy to the various vineyards in the area. Bobby is an excellent hostess and a good source of local information.
I would recommend staying here.
Virginia Koffke,Blacktown,NSW,2148

  • Liked — Location, furnishings
  • Disliked — No bath
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dreamalegria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

You cannot go wrong staying here. The setting is fantastic, Bobby (the owner) is friendly and helpful (she even came to pick us up when we went out for dinner!) the room was beautiful, clean and had everything you could possibly need including a kettle, egg boiler, fridge, TV, welcome pack of food, Port and wine and a modern comfortable bathroom. Bobby's local knowledge is invaluable and she can recommend nice places to eat and visit.

There is also a small pool which was really refreshing after a day drinking wine in the sun!

I thought the prices were reasonable too.

I'd well recommend for a romantic weekend or a place to stay with friends. I am sure Bobby and her husband would be welcoming to everyone.

  • Liked — The clean modern style and the friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

As tourists in Sydney, we decided to take an overnight trip to the Hunter Valley Wine region. From the web we chose Splinter's Guest House, largely randomly. That choice, though, greatly enhanced our visit to the region. The innkeeper, Bobbi, was determined that we have a good experience. She recommended several very small vineyards to visit and even called ahead to facilitate our visits. She provided excellent recommendations for eating. When we mentioned that we were interested in horseback riding, she called ahead and arraned it. As a result of all of this personal attention, we experienced wonderful aspects of Hunter Valley often missed by tourists. The bed and breakfast itself was quite nice. They have a one-hole golf course and a set of clubs although you need to shoo the kangaroos away to play and step gingerly to avoid the roo poo. I am sure there are fancier inns and place to stay in the Hunter Valley but I would be surprised if there were more enjoyable place to stay.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank sohohubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing