We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We recently had a wedding to attend and Splinters was the perfect place to stay- Bobbie was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the moment we left- great hospitality and a warm welcome- breakfast was a highlight too- can't wait to return !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gai F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Splinters Guest House B&B.

We were welcomed by both Bill and Bobby and felt completely at home with what they would, could do for us. They are both the perfect hosts but Bobby is the main one who cooks, cleans and advises the majority of the time. People that we spoke with in the area have nothing but praise for this couple and the guest house that they run.

The guest house is full of little knick-knacky, quirky B&B things that you notice around the place and it suits the decor and the location. The rooms are comfortable with an excellent bed, small screen LCD TV, DVD player, Tea, Coffee, Electric Stove top coffee maker and liqueurs etc...

Rooms are cleaned every day which was really nice. As we do not expect this for short termers such as us.

Breakfasts - Yum! Bobby will take the order and let you know what is cooking for the morning. They are delicious and everyday there was something different.

The location is great and Bobby (when asked) will recommend where to go and things to see. We were not disappointed with the recommendations.

We don't know when we will be back to the Hunter Valley but if we did we would most definitely stay at Splinters Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cintrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a two night stay here; we highly recommend it. It cannot be faulted. Bobby is the perfect host; friendly, knowledgeable, interesting and helpful, and yet not in your face kind of way. The breakfasts she serves are delicious and our two mornings we werent served the same items which was a pleasant change. Our room was very comfortable, tastefully decorated and furnished. There is a good choice of DVDs available to watch in your room or the communal lounge. And 3 or 4 wineries in walking distance of Splinters. We loved our stay here and if we have the opportunity to go back to Hunter Valley Splinters will be our first choice for accommodation. Thank you Bobby for giving us a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I loved this place. Great location, excellent, clean facilities. Bobby the owner was a highlight - friendly, knowledgeable and always knowing exactly what we needed and never intrusive or over the top. Bobby recommended great places to go (even though I know the area well and never listen to anyone else's advice), a fantastic dinner at Botanic nearby. The room was incredibly clean (which is often so hard to find) with beautiful touches, local cheese, wine and olives on arrival. A gorgeous breakfast. Everything you need plus more. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the hunter valley.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katsonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Well what a weekend, Splinter Guest House/Cottage is amazing. We arrived on Friday morning and met our friends for the CMC music weekend, there were three couples, one couple stayed in the guest house while the other two couples were in the cottage, which is basically next door. We were welcomed by the owner Bobby who immediately made us feel so very welcome. The Guest House room was a large room with an ensuite while the Cottage was huge, comprising of a bedroom down stairs with bathroom, kitchen, dining & lounge and a large loft with bedroom and bathroom up stairs. We were welcomed with a cheese platter, wine & chocolates.
The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you would ever think you needed, our fridge was stacked with bacon, eggs, juices, milk, cereals and all the condiments we required and more. The thick sliced fresh bread was wonderful. Bobby would regularly check if we needed anything else and was only too happy to provide.
We spent as much time as we could sitting outside looking at the beautiful views and cooking on the BBQ.
Having a hit of golf on the one hole par 3 kept us very amused.
Once the CMC was over our friends left while we spent another night, Bobby moved us from the Cottage to a Guest Room which was very nice, with more cheese, wine & chocolates.
The next morning we sat out the front while Bobby made us a delicious breakfast of yoghurt, berries, tea, juice, eggs & toast.
That lady knows how to look after her guests, she certainly found her calling when she took on this beautiful Guest House, which is set on ten acres.
Thank you for everything and see you again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights which encompassed my wife's 65th birthday. We could not have had a better experience - Bobby is the quintessential host, giving us guidance on what to see, where to eat, wineries to visit. The pool and grounds offer secluded peace if needed and the patio the ability to meet other guests over breakfast or a drink at sunset. Unforgettable.

Room Tip: Anywhere would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chogbolt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Splinters. We had read the reviews and thought it sounded great and we weren't disappointed. Bobby was away but her friend Reggie looked after us and did a great job. The accommodation was beautiful and very clean. We stayed in one of the queen bedrooms which was well thought out and furnished. Reggie was very friendly and helpful sorting out taxis and reservations for us. Breakfast was delicious and was served outside in the glorious sunshine overlooking the lovely grounds. The swimming pool provided perfect relaxation at the end of a busy day.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful guest house as a base for exploring the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing