We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the main cottage for 1 night in Nov 2012.
It was clean, warm & welcoming.
The facilities are ample & the service from Bobby was exceptional.
Conveniently located amongst numerous vineyards.
Pictures don't do this place justice, well done guys.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
194
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and were very impressed. Bobby was hospitable and very knowledgable about the local area, giving us excellent advice on local wineries and other things to see and do. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. Breakfast and the wine and cheese on arrival were lovely extras.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dee_jay_ay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at this cottage. It was a great place for a family trip as there was a double bedroom downstairs with a large loft bedroom upstairs for the children. Friendly and comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I was skeptical of the accolades heaped upon Splinters and Bobby until experiencing the beautiful facility and incomparable hospitality it offers. From the greeting to the tasteful quiet rooms on lovely grounds, it can't be beat. But it's Bobbys unfailing good humor and ability to steer you to the right places to visit, vineyards to sample and arranging wonderful dining venues that put her and Splinters in a class by itself. Australia is always fun, but Splinters has set a new standard.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gunnerHiltonHead_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent Sunday night there and choose because of the reviews, it really is as good as they say. The accommodation excellent, the bed very comfortable but there is no doubt Bobby is what makes the place so personable and inviting. The breakfast is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Splinters 2 bedroom cottage for 1 night - how we wished we had scheduled a longer stay. A beautiful setting and everything you could wish for. The house is comfortable and stylish, well equipped, and provides perfect accommodation for two couples. Bobby left us wine, port, cheese and chocolates - our evening supper following our extensive wine/food tour during the day! Bobby was the perfect host from the time we booked to the time we left - we couldn't recommend Splinters more highly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Topcat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Splinters as a side trip from Sydney, as we wanted to get into the countryside as well as tour the Hunter Valley.
We found it to be the most comfortable and welcoming that we've ever stayed in. Not the most luxurious, but the most comfortable, and I'll take total comfort over pure luxury any time.
Splinters is equipped with many luxury touches as well-nice linens, thick towels, espresso machine, big screen TV for the media addicted, lots of atmospheric candles and comfy chairs, etc etc.
Bobbi is the friendliest, warmest B and B owner we've ever met. She made arrangements, checked on them, followed up and followed thru.Her advise was excellent. My 11 year old daughter needed to be left behind so we could fully enjoy our wine tasting tour. Bobbi not only found us a companion/sitter for her, but checked on her during the day to make sure she was having fun, and gave her some bread to feed the neighbor's horses.
For people who enjoy sitting outside watching the sun rise or set, listening to birds, and quietly absorbing natural beauty, I think you could find no finer locale.
If we lived in Australia, an annual trip to Splinters to recharge the batteries would be a must! If you can book a few days here, I highly recommend that you do!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyandSniggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#13 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
145 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing