We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look any further”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't look any further”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Splinters 2 bedroom cottage for 1 night - how we wished we had scheduled a longer stay. A beautiful setting and everything you could wish for. The house is comfortable and stylish, well equipped, and provides perfect accommodation for two couples. Bobby left us wine, port, cheese and chocolates - our evening supper following our extensive wine/food tour during the day! Bobby was the perfect host from the time we booked to the time we left - we couldn't recommend Splinters more highly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Topcat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Splinters as a side trip from Sydney, as we wanted to get into the countryside as well as tour the Hunter Valley.
We found it to be the most comfortable and welcoming that we've ever stayed in. Not the most luxurious, but the most comfortable, and I'll take total comfort over pure luxury any time.
Splinters is equipped with many luxury touches as well-nice linens, thick towels, espresso machine, big screen TV for the media addicted, lots of atmospheric candles and comfy chairs, etc etc.
Bobbi is the friendliest, warmest B and B owner we've ever met. She made arrangements, checked on them, followed up and followed thru.Her advise was excellent. My 11 year old daughter needed to be left behind so we could fully enjoy our wine tasting tour. Bobbi not only found us a companion/sitter for her, but checked on her during the day to make sure she was having fun, and gave her some bread to feed the neighbor's horses.
For people who enjoy sitting outside watching the sun rise or set, listening to birds, and quietly absorbing natural beauty, I think you could find no finer locale.
If we lived in Australia, an annual trip to Splinters to recharge the batteries would be a must! If you can book a few days here, I highly recommend that you do!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyandSniggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We travelled to the Hunter Valley to attend a wedding and Splinters was suggested to us by the Bride. We could not have asked for more. Bobby was friendly on the phone and made the booking process so easy. On arrival Bobby greeted us like we were long lost family. The room was beautiful. The linen, towels, glasses, crockery, appliances all look brand new. The bed was comfortable. The setting is devine. The breakfast was incredible. You could not ask for more. Highly recommended and deserves all the accolades they receive. Thanks so much for having us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Simply the best place to stay in the Hunter Valley.
From the second of our arrival till the dust of our departure we were looked after as if we were family.
Bobbie you are a legend.
Everything about Spllinters is ooooh aaaahhhh, The genuine friendliness, the view, the ambiance, the cleanliness, the amenities and the 'to die for breakfast'. I must have the recipe for the patties.
An amazing piece of heaven. Mad if you don't try it.
We will definitely be back, and next time ,for longer.

Room Tip: If you wnat complete and utter privacy the seperate cottages are beautifully furnished and catered f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here with four other couples In April 2010, and were absolutely bowled over from the moment we arrived. The hosts were friendly and helpful, but distant when needed. We stayed for two nights, and followed the hosts suggestion of not going to a restaurant following our bus tour and tastings at wineries - no way were we up to that. Following Bobby's suggestion, we stocked up at the Cheese factory and ate in. Her choice of restaurant for our first night was also superb. Breakfast on both mornings was a cook-it-yourself deal. All ten of us pooled our supplies (which were plentiful, and there were some big eaters amongst us) and had BBQ brekkie on one of the verandahs which was lovely, if a little cool for the Queenslanders! We felt very welcome, and would absolutely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenniesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I love Splinters and I am delighted I chose it again as my base in the Hunter. I do not award a 5/5 lightly, but this place just seems to be such a great choice for your weekend away in the Pokolbin area. Perfect location, charming owner (Bobby is ever so helpful and friendly), walking distance to local vineyards and a fantastic restaurant (see review). We rented out one of the cottages and had a great BBQ on the first night. The cottages are a bit 80s, nonetheless they are charming, comfortable and welcoming. Bobby is in the process of renovating the cottages - a dishwasher would be great!

Room Tip: Lower cottage for a group of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the guesthouse in August and had a brilliant memorable stay! Thank you so much Bobby and Bill for looking after us. Your hospitality is 2nd to none and i strive to be as good at my job as you are at yours. The guesthouse was spotless and down to all the touches of the paint on the walls to the bed linen was the finest quality. Your breakfasts are fabulous and the little extras are given with care and thoughtfulness. I know that i promised to stay off trip advisor but you deserve all the praise given. We did give you this praise in person but i don't feel it would be right not to tell everyone how wonderful our experience was. Thank you for sharing your paradise with us and making us feel like we were welcomed. We promise to return and look forward to having chats with you. All the best and until we meet again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenslanders0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing