We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here with four other couples In April 2010, and were absolutely bowled over from the moment we arrived. The hosts were friendly and helpful, but distant when needed. We stayed for two nights, and followed the hosts suggestion of not going to a restaurant following our bus tour and tastings at wineries - no way were we up to that. Following Bobby's suggestion, we stocked up at the Cheese factory and ate in. Her choice of restaurant for our first night was also superb. Breakfast on both mornings was a cook-it-yourself deal. All ten of us pooled our supplies (which were plentiful, and there were some big eaters amongst us) and had BBQ brekkie on one of the verandahs which was lovely, if a little cool for the Queenslanders! We felt very welcome, and would absolutely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenniesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 304 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I love Splinters and I am delighted I chose it again as my base in the Hunter. I do not award a 5/5 lightly, but this place just seems to be such a great choice for your weekend away in the Pokolbin area. Perfect location, charming owner (Bobby is ever so helpful and friendly), walking distance to local vineyards and a fantastic restaurant (see review). We rented out one of the cottages and had a great BBQ on the first night. The cottages are a bit 80s, nonetheless they are charming, comfortable and welcoming. Bobby is in the process of renovating the cottages - a dishwasher would be great!

Room Tip: Lower cottage for a group of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the guesthouse in August and had a brilliant memorable stay! Thank you so much Bobby and Bill for looking after us. Your hospitality is 2nd to none and i strive to be as good at my job as you are at yours. The guesthouse was spotless and down to all the touches of the paint on the walls to the bed linen was the finest quality. Your breakfasts are fabulous and the little extras are given with care and thoughtfulness. I know that i promised to stay off trip advisor but you deserve all the praise given. We did give you this praise in person but i don't feel it would be right not to tell everyone how wonderful our experience was. Thank you for sharing your paradise with us and making us feel like we were welcomed. We promise to return and look forward to having chats with you. All the best and until we meet again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslanders0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We read the reviews and were anticipating something extraordinary but we did not expect the attention that the property host offered for our two night stay for a very long time. She welcomed us all at different times in a freezing night over separate arrivals before we got out of our cars and pointed us in the right direction. Log fire was already lit, refrigerator stocked with supplies, wine and cheese plate prepared and best of all the most delicious home made portugese tarts! Coffee machine was a gem. Bathrooms immaculately kept, as too all the rest of our cottage. Recommendations were very accurate. All other reviews are very true of the experience and inclusions that are offered. Excellent reviews are truly deserved.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberty3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Having done day tours of Hunter valley a few times before, we were just looking to check out some new wineries and restaurants and enjoy the area.

Bobby was the perfect host, offering recommendations, making bookings. The property is beautiful - looking forward to returning in the warm weather to make use of the pool.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed the snacks Bobby left and borrowed from the dvd collection.

The location was perfect. There are a few wineries within walking distance and many others are just a short drive away. We had a really fantastic meal at Restaurant Botanica, which is right next door. Being so close meant we could enjoy our wine without worrying about having to drive.

Perfect weekend away!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

After a last minute decision to have a weekend away, i emailed bobby once i had read the amazing reviews online, she replied straight away with all the information we needed to book. Once we arrived bobby walked up to our car to greet us and show us our beautiful room. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. There was even cheese and crackers with a bottle of red wine for us to enjoy on arrival, and chocolates and port for after dinner. It was a chilly afternoon and bobby had turned the air conditioner on in our room to warm it up for us which i thought was very thoughtful. There is a common room with a fire place, tv, dvds and cd's, books and board games. Bobby recommended restaurants and winerys for us to visit, it was very helpful to have local knowledge. In the morning, bobby set up the table on our verandah with a our breakfast which was delicious, we had home made fruit salad and toast and cereals. We had the best weekend and having bobby there to help us with directions and recommendations was the icing on the cake. We would highly recommend anyone staying at splinters, it is local to heaps of restaurants, shops and winerys, not to mention the clean, well kept, cosy, spacious guest rooms, great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here in one of the cottages and it was just simply perfect. Set on a quaint property in the hunter valley this guest house has it all. We were greated by Bobby the owner who had just pulled some fresh muffins out of the oven, and she showed us to our beautiful room. Bobby is just great, warm and bubbly and a little bit nutty(self admitted), she is the perfect host. Her reccomendations were all spot on. from the 2 restuarants she picked to the great cellar doors, it made our 2 night stay just so fun and relaxing at the same time. If you are a clean freak, you will be knocked off your feet, everything was so clean and neat, without losing its beautiful country charm. It is obvious that alot of hard work and love goes into this place. Everything is great, from the beautiful accomodation, the generous breakfast, yummy chocolates and wine on arrival to the log fire that was going when we rocked up, its just all too good. Just sit back grab some wine and cheese and really relax in this truely special place. Another bonus about this place is there is 4 cellar doors in walking distance, so you dont have to worry about driving after a few tastings, and not to mention a 1hole golf course for the mad golfer. Its just great, stay there and you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
891 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $150 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing