We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, N.S.W
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here in one of the cottages and it was just simply perfect. Set on a quaint property in the hunter valley this guest house has it all. We were greated by Bobby the owner who had just pulled some fresh muffins out of the oven, and she showed us to our beautiful room. Bobby is just great, warm and bubbly and a little bit nutty(self admitted), she is the perfect host. Her reccomendations were all spot on. from the 2 restuarants she picked to the great cellar doors, it made our 2 night stay just so fun and relaxing at the same time. If you are a clean freak, you will be knocked off your feet, everything was so clean and neat, without losing its beautiful country charm. It is obvious that alot of hard work and love goes into this place. Everything is great, from the beautiful accomodation, the generous breakfast, yummy chocolates and wine on arrival to the log fire that was going when we rocked up, its just all too good. Just sit back grab some wine and cheese and really relax in this truely special place. Another bonus about this place is there is 4 cellar doors in walking distance, so you dont have to worry about driving after a few tastings, and not to mention a 1hole golf course for the mad golfer. Its just great, stay there and you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent two nights sharing a 2 bedroom cottage with strangers - all part of a wedding group. It was fantastic. The layout made sharing a breeze (and the couple we were with were awesome, so that helped!). The fire was lit for us, cheese and wine were ready and waiting on arrival and the rooms were cosy, spacious and best of all the beds were great quality so everyone slept well! Of course, the night of the wedding sleep may have been assisted by the happy juice we consumed....nothing was too much trouble for our host, the grounds were beautiful and the kitchen had every appliance, cup and saucer you could possibly hope for - including a strange egg-cooking contraption we failed miserably to conquer. What can I say? We would stay again in a heart-beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom Cottage. It was lovely, private, quiet and had an old world charm about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenwattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just a wonderful place to stay. We make a point of staying here every year. Bobbi makes it a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narelle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to spend our anniversary weekend. Bobbi is the perfect host. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely & food delicious.
Bobbi organized all our dinner & tour bookings, nothing is too much trouble.
We'll be back!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The great reviews are well earnt. Bobbi was a wonderful host - nothing is too much trouble and she has a perfect ability to sense when to say hello, and when to stay in the background. Communication with her was prompt and friendly prior to the visit. Beautiful grounds, we made the short walk to Spicer's up the road for dinner at Botanica - which was utterly delicious. A surprise glass of bubbly from Splinters at dinner there was only one of many thoughtful touchs provided by Bobbi.

A 3 night stay went by all too quickly - we would love to return! HIghly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhruv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Everything has been said by other reviewers, so on this occasion I can only concur.

A perfect, central location; wonderful hosts; immaculate accommodation; service neither lacking nor overwhelming - right on target!

Room Tip: Rooms or cottages, "your expectations will be exceeded"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterAccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We asked for advice on Hunter Valley options for our few days get away and the responses were overwhelming in favor of Splinters. And they were not wrong. This is a great guesthouse, easy to book, easy to find, very comfortable, almost like staying with friends. Bobby was away, but Reggie took very good care of us and was very knowledgeable about dining options and which vineyards we should visit given we only had a couple of days. My partner was also determined to find kangaroos and Reggie gave him the perfect location and instructions for getting some great photographs. This was our first trip to Australia, but it won't be our last and we would certainly recommend Splinters to anyone visiting the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCaseNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing