We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch at Two Fat Blokes”

Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen
Ranked #28 of 83 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $9 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Two Fat Blokes Kitchen & Euro-deli Cafe is open 7 days for breakfast and lunch serving an amazing fresh range of local, Australian and International gourmet food at the best prices in Pokolbin, guaranteed! Abundant seating, (inside and out), overlooks the beautiful lush grounds at De Iuliis Winery, so drop in to; - plan your day sipping Vittorio Coffee with a sweet treat. - enjoy a casual lunch into the late afternoon with a selection of snacks, tasting platters, formal dishes and deserts. - quick pickup on lunch packs including picnic baskets with blanket filled with your goodies and BBQ packs. - taste cheese & wine including our popular 1 hour matching experience. - quench your thirst with a cool drink or beverage from our extensive range. - gift yourself fresh smallgoods from our big authentic range including cheeses, prosciutto, salamis, antipasto platters, kransky sausages, smoked trout, fresh pasta & pasta sauces, bakery and more. - jump on a private luxury tour right after lunch to taste from some of the best local wineries.
Reviewed June 4, 2016

We were very surprised at the selection of small goods including cheese and variety of goodies available in shop. We had a light brunch in the restaurant and found it to be very clean and well priced. We would recommend going there for the Sunday lunch as when we were there a guy was setting up to do some songs which would have been a great venue on a Sunday afternoon.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank mattskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 364 of 663 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2016

Came here with friends for breakfast based on the positive reviews we saw. The restaurant was almost empty yet the service was very slow. Waitresses sauntered past without looking at patrons, several of whom had to call out to get service. Our coffees took 15 minutes (again, the place was empty, and there were heaps of servers, no idea why we waited) - we could see that they didn't even begin to get made until a good 10 minutes after we ordered. We had to ask the waitress to order. The meals came out at different times - our friends had finished their meals by the time we got ours. My partner and I had scrambled eggs on toast and a side of avo - our portions were different sizes (he had a huge piece of bread and mine was about half the size of his). It was completely unseasoned and not very warm. Our friends had the omelette and pancakes with figs and honey - again, not seasoned, small portions and the 2 pancakes were thin, had too many figs (not fresh). Definitely would not go back, waste of time, crap service and poor value for money.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo_eats16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Just loved this place for breakfast. Everything you could wish for. Seating was indoors as well as outdoors in the sun or under a covered pergola. Food was just exceptional and I could have easily eaten there for every meal. We chose breakfast and had Croque Madame and 2 Fat Blokes Big Breakfast which were both fantastic. Loved the deli on site also where you can buy a huge range of cheeses, olives, sauces and more.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

We looked on TripAdvisor and was enthoused by the good recommendations on here about this place. Having heard about the Two Fat Blokes tour, I had high hopes for the cafe.
Despite the nice setting, the service was a huge let down. It's a large cafe but with only three small tables occupied inside, we had to wait over half an hour for our coffees. When mine arrived (carried by a scruffy boy in a hoddie we hadn't realised was staff), his grubby hand left my saucer all dirty. Coffee was ok but we'd have drunk anything by that point. The food took another half an hour to arrive, and was below average. Our 'poached' eggs were practically hard boiled and $4.50 is too much to pay for half a small avocado (not even sliced up).
It was disappointing to see how many members of staff this place seems to employ, but who seemed to be doing very little. I just couldn't understand why they would all stand around in the kitchen not doing anything when they could have been making our coffee, especially after asking a few times. Our main waitress, Ellie, did about 80% work in the whole place from what it looked like - the rest of the staff often walking around aimlessly looking at tables with dirty plates waiting to be cleared, whilst Ellie ran around doing the work for the whole team. Ever time the kitchen shouted 'service' we'd time how long it would take before one of the other staff members would realise what this meant and take food out, great entertainment!
She explained to us that some of the staff are new and very kindly asked for a discount for us, but we very sorry for her.
Thank you Ellie for being so great - you were the one positive thing about our visit! I'm sure this place can be lovely and relaxing with great food, however we felt very disappointed. I would not recommend a visit until things have improved.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traceystephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

Advertised as a gourmet kitchen, TFB is located on a large acreage. Suitable for large groups, this is perfect for families who want to eat whilst letting the kids run around on the lawn outside.

Food: We had an antipasto platter to share and it was average. yummy dip and cheese, but the bread was small and a bit stale. For somewhere that professes to be a gourmet kitchen, there was a bit lacking in the gourmet department.

Pricing: Average, cheaper than most HV locations.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank jessicabparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing