We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to go here!!!”

Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 12/1
8:00 PM
Ranked #28 of 55 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Perfect for a casual breakfast or lunch serving an amazing fresh range of local, Australian and International gourmet food. Picture yourself relaxing in a small cafe in Provence or Tuscany, we have created an ambiance to rival that. It’s a place to relax and plan your day sipping on a coffee or a cold drink and nibbling on some sweets. Lunch is nice and casual – a menu offering many choices of snacks or more formal dishes at very reasonable prices. The Kitchen is open Wednesday - Friday (9am to 4:30pm) Our Euro-Deli is open 7 days (9am to 4:30pm) and has a variety of food available including cheese/picnic packs, pies, sausage rolls, antipasto, toasted sandwiches, and more.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Just loved this place for breakfast. Everything you could wish for. Seating was indoors as well as outdoors in the sun or under a covered pergola. Food was just exceptional and I could have easily eaten there for every meal. We chose breakfast and had Croque Madame and 2 Fat Blokes Big Breakfast which were both fantastic. Loved the deli on site also where you can buy a huge range of cheeses, olives, sauces and more.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank SandraT576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 424 of 720 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2016

We looked on TripAdvisor and was enthoused by the good recommendations on here about this place. Having heard about the Two Fat Blokes tour, I had high hopes for the cafe.
Despite the nice setting, the service was a huge let down. It's a large cafe but with only three small tables occupied inside, we had to wait over half an hour for our coffees. When mine arrived (carried by a scruffy boy in a hoddie we hadn't realised was staff), his grubby hand left my saucer all dirty. Coffee was ok but we'd have drunk anything by that point. The food took another half an hour to arrive, and was below average. Our 'poached' eggs were practically hard boiled and $4.50 is too much to pay for half a small avocado (not even sliced up).
It was disappointing to see how many members of staff this place seems to employ, but who seemed to be doing very little. I just couldn't understand why they would all stand around in the kitchen not doing anything when they could have been making our coffee, especially after asking a few times. Our main waitress, Ellie, did about 80% work in the whole place from what it looked like - the rest of the staff often walking around aimlessly looking at tables with dirty plates waiting to be cleared, whilst Ellie ran around doing the work for the whole team. Ever time the kitchen shouted 'service' we'd time how long it would take before one of the other staff members would realise what this meant and take food out, great entertainment!
She explained to us that some of the staff are new and very kindly asked for a discount for us, but we very sorry for her.
Thank you Ellie for being so great - you were the one positive thing about our visit! I'm sure this place can be lovely and relaxing with great food, however we felt very disappointed. I would not recommend a visit until things have improved.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traceystephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

Advertised as a gourmet kitchen, TFB is located on a large acreage. Suitable for large groups, this is perfect for families who want to eat whilst letting the kids run around on the lawn outside.

Food: We had an antipasto platter to share and it was average. yummy dip and cheese, but the bread was small and a bit stale. For somewhere that professes to be a gourmet kitchen, there was a bit lacking in the gourmet department.

Pricing: Average, cheaper than most HV locations.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank jessicabparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

We went here for breakfast our last day and enjoyed the Two Fat Blokes breakfast. The Kransky was very lean and so was the bacon, no grease/fat in sight. The coffee was lovely. The staff are friendly. Would recommend this, however found the Gourmet Kitchen a bit on the pricy side.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulzTrac6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

We read a mixture of reviews on this place, however wanted to try a new place for breakfast this weekend. Unfortunately not impressed, the breakfast was average, pancakes didn't look very appetising and were a bit undercooked to my liking. My husband had the croque Madame and it was ok.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank 904marj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.