We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hunter Valley Memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Private Tours

Hunter Private Tours
Ranked #8 of 25 Tours in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exclusive private luxury tours showcasing the best of Hunter Wine Country in a style unmatched by the usual group tour. Private charter, full day or 1/2 day tours for just you and your chosen companions only. With our local knowledge of the area and many contacts, you'll visit beautiful boutique wineries with excellent wines and friendly, knowledgeable staff in gorgeous surroundings. Our half day tour is 4 hours starting at either 10am or 1pm to suit your day - includes wine tastings at premium wineries, artisan cheese tasting, olives and olive oils, gorgeous hand made chocolates, perhaps a vodka tasting at the popular Hunter Distillery! Our very popular 6 hour Full Day Tour is designed for you to create your own special day - a corporate event, a family get together, a special ladies only tour with some extra pampering, or a special interest tour - the possibilities are as big as your imagination!
Picton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hunter Valley Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We wanted a memorable experience for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and touring Hunter wine country with Graham in his Range Rover certainly didn't disappoint. Graham guided us to a number of the best Hunter attractions including wineries and local producers. He was very knowledgeable, providing some great back stories and interesting facts and gave us plenty of privacy to enjoy the experiences. Graham provided a fantastic picnic lunch at Audrey Wilkinson Vinyard and the views over the valley were outstanding. Thanks for a memorable day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahame R, Owner at Hunter Private Tours, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks Kim - it was lovely to meet you both and share your anniversary - I'm so happy you enjoyed the day especially your private picnic in the vines! Hope to see you again soon! Regards Grahame
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Grahame was the perfect host. He was informative, courteous and highly responsive to any specific requirements we had. The service experience was seamless as made wine tasting appointments in advance and had bottled water etc ready in the car.

So glad we went with him instead of the more commercial, impersonal tour options.

It was especially the little things he did that made our tour even more memorable ...like helping us find a spot for our morning coffee :) and showing us unexpected locations like the Hunter Distillery (mmm, vodka!). All in all it was a perfect way to celebrate our 2-year wedding anniversary in the Hunter. Would highly recommend for anyone looking to do something similar!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank arti k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahame R, Manager at Hunter Private Tours, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you, thank you! It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope we meet again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best way to spend a Sunday in the Hunter Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Highly recommend this for anyone that wants a exclusive well-organised tour that is entertaining and informative, a great way to experience the best of the Hunter Valley in a day.

Graham knows his stuff and nothing was ever 'too hard', he was able to answer any questions and help out (especially the added bonus of the wine rack in the boot... quite handy)

I would recommend this to anyone that wants an exclusive tour of the Hunter, don't bother with group bus tours hit up Grahame and do it the right way!!

Thanks for everything mate!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Conan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahame R, Owner at Hunter Private Tours, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks Conan - I had a great day too! Really appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The only way to do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

A fantastic day out with Hunter Private Tours that I would recommend to everyone!

We gave Grahame a list of places we wanted to visit and he did the rest by making bookings with all the wineries to ensure we had a personalised service throughout. Grahame was knowledgeable and jovial from start to finish. He made a great lunch recommendation and even managed to squeeze in some additional stops during the day at the Distillery, chocolate and wine matching and Pokolbin Estate vineyard.

Stop looking at all the big group tours because cruising in the Range Rover with Grahame from Hunter Private Tours is the only way to explore Hunter wine country.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahame R, Owner at Hunter Private Tours, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Loved it! Great to catch up again and to share the day ... a real hoot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best tour in the Hunter Valley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This tour was an excellent way to experience the wineries and the best the Hunter Valley has to offer. Grahame was very knowledgable and happy to answer all questions. The tour was very exclusive, particularly when the tasting areas in the wineries became crowded, we would be ushered into a private room. Service was one on one at all places. The lunch was delicious with a fabulous view!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahame R, Owner at Hunter Private Tours, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Many, many thanks for a great day - you were a pleasure to spend time with!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Private Tours also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing